Afro Celt Sound System

Afro Celt Sound System Biography

The Afro Celt Sound System was formed in 1995 as a collaborative effort between traditional African and Celtic musicians and several respected figures from the UK music scene. The bonding of producer Simon Emmerson, co-producer and multi-instrumentalist James McNally; vocalist and lyricist Iarla Ó Lionáird; co-producer, engineer and programmer Martin Russell turned the Afro Celts from a project into a band.

Over the years they have formed an ever-changing collaborative collective with numerous guest performers who have taken cross-cultural fusion to dizzying heights. As well as core members Johnny Kalsi and N'Faly Koyate; they have been joined by a host of names from Robert Plant to Sinéad O'Connor, Davy Spillane to Liam O'Flynn, Peter Gabriel and Eileen Ivers to name but a few.

Latest Music News

more news headlines »

Featured Links