Brand Nubian

Brand Nubian Biography

Members: Maxwell Dixon, Lorenzo DeChalus, and Derrick Murphy

Hailing from New Rochelle, New York, the original members, Maxwell Dixon AKA Grand Puba, Sadat X AKA Derrick Murphy, Lorenzo DeChalus AKA Lord Jamar, and Alamo formed Brand Nubian in 1989, after Puba stepped away from his former group, Masters Of Ceremony (2). They signed to Elektra and released the breakthrough album "One for All", most remembered for the sampling of Edie Brickell's 'What I Am' in 'Slow Down.'

Latest Music News

more news headlines »

Featured Links