• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Dan Peek
  • > Biography
  • Dan Peek

    Dan Peek

    Dan Peek Biography

    Dan Peek was born in Panama City, Florida the second of 6 children; 3 boys and 3 girls. Dan's father was in the Air Force and the family moved frequently. Dan attended 18 different schools in as many years and graduated from high school in London, England. He attended Old Dominion University for a year before leaving to pursue music full time.

    Dan and his older brother, Tom started playing the guitar in New York and began forming bands almost immediately. Pakistan, Missouri and Texas were 3 posts where they formed bands which became locally well-known. They were offered a recording contract in Texas but were forced to decline after learning of yet another move.

    In London, the two parted company as Tom entered military service and Dan continued his high school education. While attending London Central High School, Dan met Dewey Bunnell and Gerry Beckley with whom he eventually formed the group AMERICA. AMERICA's first self-titled album contained the hit singles, "Sandman", "I Need You", and the blockbuster hit, "Horse With No Name". The album launched AMERICA into the stratosphere of rock 'n roll superstardom.

    The next 8 years saw the release of 7 more albums which contained the classic Rock hits, "Lonely People", "Tin Man", "Sister Golden Hair", "Ventura Highway", "Don't Cross The River", "Daisy Jane", "Woman Tonight", "Today's The Day", "Muskrat Love", and "Only In Your Heart". All 7 albums received platinum and multi-platinum certifications. Their greatest hits collection, "History", has sold in excess of 7 million copies.

    Following the release of "History", Dan Peek left the band after almost 10 years of recording and touring. A spiritual "awakening" led him to embark on a musical pilgrimage which produced the groundbreaking hit solo album, "All Things Are Possible". The album garnered 2 Grammy nominations and the monster hit single, "All Things Are Possible".

    Dan recorded 3 more albums, "Doer Of The Word", "Electro-Voice", and "Crossover", each containing hit's including the re-worked "Lonely People".

    In 1992 Dan and his wife, Catherine, moved to the Caribbean. The years that followed served as some of the most inspirational and productive in Dan's musical, artistic, and literary life. Dan wrote and recorded a new album, "Bodden Town", which contains 12 original songs and a remake of the Beatles gem, "This Boy". Due to popular demand the song, "On Wings Of Eagles", has been added to the original 12 song set. "On Wings Of Eagles" was written for the On Wings of Eagles organization which provides freedom flights to Jewish refugees of the Diaspora.

    In addition, Dan's original Caribbean art has been used for the graphics of the Bodden Town album, and for a line of greeting cards which has been added to this prolific creator's achievements. Dan is also putting the finishing touches to "The AMERICA Story", an autobiographical look at the behind the scenes story of his alma mater band, AMERICA. The book is being released in serialized form on his website, to coincide with the release of the long awaited AMERICA Boxed Set.

    As if all that weren't enough, Dan is finishing up the final mixes for a new PEACE album. PEACE, a band Dan discovered in Nashville and whom Dan is producing, have recorded 2 other albums with Dan for the 7-Mile Entertainment label.

    Finally, Dan recently learned that he has been chosen to provide music for a new movie, "Scarlet Moon". The producers have chosen a song Dan recorded, "Borrowed Time", for this soon-to-be released feature film.

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    Featured Links