• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Hinds
  • > Biography
  • Hinds


    Hinds Biography

    Hinds started as a duo of Carlotta Cosials and Ana García Perrote in 2011. After a break of a year and a half, the duo went active again in 2013. In March 2014, still as a duo, they recorded the tracks "Bamboo" and "Trippy Gum" and released both songs in Bandcamp as "Demo". The single was praised by music magazines such as NME and by The Guardian (which chose Deers as "new band of the week in September 2014"), and by major musicians, such as Patrick Carney, The Pastels, and Bobby Gillespie. After releasing "Demo" the duo became a four piece, with close friend, ex guitar player and singer Ade Martín on bass and Holland-born Amber Grimbergen on drums. In May 2014, Deers won the "Make Noise Malasaña" festival contest and were awarded with recording their second single "Barn" in Converse Rubber Tracks in Berlin. In June 2014, Deers played for the first time in London and "Demo" was released on July on vinyl by the record labels Lucky Number Music (UK) and Mom + Pop Music (USA). During the rest of the year they also played in Germany and France, amongst other countries, and supported The Libertines, The Vaccines and Black Lips. They have received very positive reviews in Pitchfork, Pigeons and Planes, Gorilla vs. Bear, The Irish Times, Paste, and DIY. On 3 November 2014, they released the single "Barn" with the tracks "Castigadas en el granero" ("Punished at the Barn", in a rough translation to English) and "Between the Cans". In 2015, the band has embarked on their first world tour, playing everywhere from Thailand and Australia to the United States to the worldwide festival circuit, including Festival Internacional de Benicàssim, South by Southwest (in which they played 16 concerts in just 4 days), Burgerama, Best Kept Secret and Dot to Dot Festival. On 13 April they began recording their debut album, with Paco Loco and Diego García (from The Parrots) as producer and engineer. The band also released a split single in April with The Parrots for Record Store Day, featuring the track “Davey Crockett (Gabba Hey!)", a cover from Thee Headcoats produced by Árni Árnason from The Vaccines. The band announced at the end of April that they have completed the recording of the debut album.

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    Featured Links