New Young Pony Club

New Young Pony Club Biography

New Young Pony Club features Tahita Bulmer (vocals), Andy Spence (guitar), Igor (bass), Lou (keyboards), and Sarah Jones (drums). Inspired by LCD Soundsystem, the Stranglers, and Gang of Four, this London dance-rock group's stylish electro-disco blend arrived with the release of the Ice Cream 7" in February 2005. The limited-edition pressing of 1,000 copies sold out in just three days, fueling New Young Pony Club's growing popularity among the U.K. music press and chic blogs alike. A deal with Modular Recordings, home to Wolfmother, the Avalanches, and Van She, and second single, The Get Go, followed before the year's end, but NYPC was still aiming to break overseas. They got it when American indie fans got a taste of NYPC's energetic style when their biggest hit, "Ice Cream," was featured in the Intel Core 2 Duo television commercial in fall 2006. U.K. tour dates supporting Lily Allen followed in November.

~ MacKenzie Wilson, All Music Guide

Latest Music News

more news headlines »

Featured Links