• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Owl City
  • > Biography
  • Owl City

    Owl City

    Owl City Biography

    With work at a Cola-Cola factory, UPS, Adam Young spent his days composing music with a microphone and programs such as Reason. He uploaded his works on MySpace and an online fanbase started to grow. Later, his work went on sale on iTunes through a deal with the digital aggregator CD Baby. In 2007, his first EP, Of June, was released. Then, his first album, Maybe I'm Dreaming, was released. Both charting in the Billboard Electronic Charts. Becoming more popular online caught the attention of the presidents of the record company, Universal Republic. His deal was confirmed in February 2009. Owl City's first full length album and first album with Universal Republic, Ocean Eyes, was released on iTunes then later a physical copy. Three songs charted from the album, including one of the most downloaded songs of all time, Fireflies. Owl City's songs were soon featured in other albums such as the soundtrack for 90210 and Almost Alice. In 2010, Young started up another side project called Sky Sailing, which moved toward an acoustic style than his usual electronic style. In 2011, Adam released All Things Bright and Beautiful which included songs such as Alligator Sky, Galaxies, and Deer in the Headlights. In 2012, Adam Young released his second EP, Shooting Star. Also in 2012, Adam posted his new single Good Time before it's official release and gained massive popularity and airplay, becoming one of popular songs yet. The Midsummer Station is set to be released August 21, 2012.

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    Featured Links