• > Home
  • > Artists
  • > Paramore
  • > Biography
  • Paramore


    Paramore Biography

    Paramore is a Franklin, Tennessee based rock band, formed in 2004 that has since recorded a platinum-selling album, garnered a Grammy nomination and achieved international recognition. At the tender age of 15, vocalist Hayley Williams began writing songs alongside friends and future bandmates Josh Farro (lead guitar), Zac Farro (drums) and Jeremy Davis (bass). After developing a few songs, the band began performing at venues around the greater Nashville area including one that was attended by Fueled By Ramen co-founder John Janick. Deeply impressed, he developed a relationship with the group and they were subsequently signed to Fueled By Ramen in April 2005. Shortly thereafter the band began working on their debut album, entitled All We Know Is Falling, which was released in July 2005. The album was released independently and it was clear from their #30 position on the Billboard Heatseekers Chart Debut that fans were receptive towards the band's unique blend of emo, punk and pop.

    Hayley's vocal talent immediately earned her comparisons with among the top female vocalists, while the band's energy during their live performances was hailed as being reminiscent of No Doubt, one of the band's greatest influences. Following the addition of guitarist Taylor York and several months of successful touring, including a stage on the Warped Tour, they began recording their sophomore album, Riot!, which was released in June 2007. The visible evolution from their first album earned the group notable success in the form of a Grammy nomination for"Best New Artist," the coveted cover of Alternative Press magazine and the title: "The Best band of 2007" according to AP readers. In November 2008 they released "Decode," which became the hit single off the soundtrack for the novel-based blockbuster film series, Twilight. The single is now certified Gold and won them a Nickelodeon Teen Choice Award for "Best Rock Song" for the second consecutive year (they won in 2007 for their single "crushcrushcrush"). This past year, Paramore joined longtime influences, No Doubt, as special guests on the widely successful No Doubt 2009 Tour while finishing on their highly anticipated third album "brand new eyes".

    Paramore Bio from Discogs

    Alternative Rock / Modern Rock band from Franklin, Tennessee, formed in 2004. The band currently consists of lead vocalist Hayley Williams, bassist Jeremy Davis, and guitarist Taylor York. The group released its debut album All We Know Is Falling in 2005, and its second album Riot! in 2007, which was certified Platinum in the US and Ireland and Gold in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the UK. Brand New Eyes, Paramore's third album, was released in 2009 and is the band's second-highest charting album to date, going platinum in Ireland and the UK, and gold in the US, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. Paramore's 2013 self-titled fourth album debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard charts in the United States. It was also the No. 1 album in the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Brazil, Argentina and Mexico.

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    Featured Links