Pennywise Biography

Formed in 1988 by vocalist Jim Lindberg, guitarist Fletcher Dragge, bassist Jason Thirsk and drummer Byron McMackin, Pennywise linked with Epitaph Records for their eponymous 1991 debut. A middle finger directed at the grunge movement of the time, the group helped to define the emerging West Coast punk scene.

While on hiatus from the group, Jason Thirsk died on July 29, 1996 and the bass role was permanently taken over by Randy Bradbury. On August 21, 2009, Jim Lindberg announced his departure from the group. On February 16, 2010, Zoli Teglas, formerly of Ignite, was announced as Lindberg's permanent replacement. Lindberg rejoined the group as lead vocalist on October 29, 2012.


Fletcher Dragge (Guitar, 1988-present)

Randy Bradbury (Bass, 1995-present)

Byron McMackin (Drums, 1988-present)

Jim Lindberg (Vocals, 1988-2009, 2012-present)

Former members:

Jason Thirsk (Bass, 1988-1995)

Dave Quackenbush (Vocals, 1992)

Zoli Teglas (Vocals, 2010-2012)

Latest Music News

more news headlines »

Featured Links