Powerman 5000

Powerman 5000 Biography

Futuristic metallists Powerman 5000 have been plotting their next move for the past few years, and their latest step towards a global takeover is upon us, in the form of 'Somewhere on the Other Side of Nowhere.' The album will drop from the solar system on October 6th (via Mighty Loud/Fontana), and as judged by such song titles as "Super Villain," "V is for Vampire," "Horror Show," and "Get your Bones," 'Somewhere on the Other Side of Nowhere' is bound to be another gnarly slice of PM5K.

"We made this record with a clear vision and a purpose," explains frontman, Spider. "We wanted to reclaim a sound we created and represent certain influences as only a band like Powerman 5000 can. While writing, we would watch 'Godzilla' or 'Ultraman' films to ensure the sonics were on point. We knew that this record needed to sound like the footsteps of a giant robot!"

"On the surface, this album is a big fun electro metal romp...though there are bigger concepts hidden within. A quote from HG Wells sums it up best, he said, 'Man is the unnatural animal, the rebel child of nature.' That is an ongoing theme in the songs, our inability to find a place in our own world. I couldn't be happier with the results. I finally feel like we have made a record that not only is exactly wanted we wanted it to be, but also a record that the fans are going to love!"

Originally formed in 1991, PM5K has been led from the beginning by Spider (who also goes by the nom de plume "Spider One"). In the process, the group has built a large and loyal fanbase, on the strength of such hit albums as 'Tonight the Stars Revolt!' and 'Transform' (all of which landed in side the top 30 of the Billboard Album Charts), as well as the radio favorites "Supernova Goes Pop," "Nobody's Real," and "When Worlds Collide." Spider and company plan on hitting the road hard in support of their seventh release overall - get prepared for a total assault of the senses!

Powerman 5000 Bio from Discogs

Current Members

Michael Cummings AKA Spider One - Vocals (1991 - present)

Dave Pino AKA Velkro (2) - Guitar (2007 - present)

Gustavo Aued AKA X-51 - Bass (2008 - present)

Gordon Heckaman AKA GFlash - Drums (2008 - present)

Past Members

Evan Rodaniche - Guitar (2007 - 2011)

Siggy Sjursen AKA Siggy 00 - Bass (2002 - 2008)

Adrian Ost AKA Ad7 - Drums (2002 - 2008)

Johnny Heatley - Guitar (2005 - 2007)

Terry Corso - Guitar (2005 - 2007)

Adam Williams AKA Adam 12 (2) - Guitar (1993 - 2005)

Mike Tempesta AKA M.33- Guitar (1999 - 2005)

Allen Pahanish - Drums (1991 - 2001)

Dorian Heartsong - Bass (1991 - 2001)

Jordan Cohen - Percussion (1994 - 1998)

Latest Music News

more news headlines »

Featured Links