The Electric Prunes Biography

Psychedelic rock band formed in 1965 in Los Angeles' San Fernando Valley. They reached their highest charting success in the USA in 1966 with I Had To Much to Dream Last Night (peaking at 11). They released two albums in 1967: The Electric Prunes: I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night) and Underground. They broke up in 1968 while recording the third album, Mass in F Minor, produced by David Axelrod who completed the album using session musicians and a Canadian band, The Collectors (4). A fourth album, Release of an Oath, was released in 1968, also produced by David Axelrod, with session musicians backing up the vocals by The Electric Prunes.

It was followed in 1969 by a Just Good Old Rock and Roll recorded by a different group of musicians under the name of The Improved New Electric Prunes, since the name was legally owned by their producer, Dave Hassinger.

The original band re-formed 30 years later, touring in 2001 and releasing a new CD, Artifact and a DVD, Rewired, in 2002.

From the ever changing personnel, the one below is regarded as the classic line-up:

- Jim Lowe: vocals

- James "Weasel" Spagnola: guitar

- Ken Williams: guitar

- Mark Tulin: bass

- Preston Ritter: drums

Latest Music News

more news headlines »

Featured Links