Vicious Rumors Biography

Vicious Rumors is an American power metal band whose beginnings took place in the California Bay Area in the early 1980's. Founded by guitarist Geoff Thorpe, the band has been active on the worldwide metal scene since their legendary full length recording debut, "Soldiers Of The Night", was released on Shrapnel Records in 1985 (which featured a young guitar virtuoso named Vinnie Moore).

Band leader Thorpe also sat in on sessions alongside veteran British session guitarist Martin Pugh (of Steamhammer, Armageddon, and the 1st Rod Stewart solo album) and drummer Tim Kelliher (of Randy Hansen's Machine Gun) for American rock & roll band 7th Order on their debut CD, The Lake of Memory - released in 2007.

VR's history includes full length releases on both Shrapnel and Atlantic Records in the 80's and 90's, several subsequent studio and live releases, videos & DVD's, "regular rotation" MTV videos, and numerous worldwide tours. The band is currently signed to SPV/Steamhammer and are embarking on a South American tour in Dec. 2014.

Latest Music News

more news headlines »

Featured Links