• > Home
  • > News
  • > 3 Reasons to Know: Veruca Salt 'Ghost Notes' out July 10
  • 3 Reasons to Know: Veruca Salt 'Ghost Notes' out July 10

    Mon, 01 Jun 2015 15:10:00

    3 Reasons to Know: Veruca Salt 'Ghost Notes' out July 10 -

    Veruca Salt Videos

    • Veruca Salt - The Gospel According To Saint Me
    • Veruca Salt - Laughing In The Sugar Bowl

    more veruca salt videos »

    Knocking me out with those... oh, and watch a lyric video!

    Veruca Salt—original members Nina Gordon (guitar/vocals), Louise Post (guitar/vocals), Steve Lack (bass), Jim Shapiro (drums)—will release their first full-length album of new material written and recorded together since 1996. The album, entitled Ghost Notes, was recorded in Los Angeles alongside Brad Wood, who produced their debut, American Thighs.

    It's out July 10. Here are three reasons to care.

    • One of the best bands of the '90s was Veruca Salt. They had two girls in their ranks and they were able to rock without sounding vulnerable. They were strong women role models for girls in the '90s... without being too hard or too soft, and without having to be Riot Grrrls. Sociocultural, yo!

    • It's their first album written and recorded together since 1996 aka too long! They had amazing chemistry two decades ago. We expect the power of their past to carry over into the now. Hear some new songs below!

    • The '90s because duh! It is the decade du jour for millennials to wax about since they did not experience it. We are all about the '90s and if any band or artist is emblematic of that era, besides the usual suspects like Nirvana, Third Eye Blind and Montell Jordan, it's Veruca Salt, on the alt front.

    Veruca Salt Ghost Notes Track Listing:

    1. The Gospel According to Saint Me
    2. Black and Blonde
    3. Eyes On You
    4. Prince of Wales
    5. The Sound of Leaving
    6. Love You Less
    7. Laughing in the Sugar Bowl
    8. Empty Bottle
    9. Come Clean Dark Thing
    10. I'm Telling You Now
    11. Triage
    12. Lost to Me
    13. The Museum of Broken Relationships
    14. Alternica

    Veruca Salt Tour Dates:

    7/8/15 San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
    7/10/15 San Francisco, CA @ Slim's
    7/11/15 Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey
    7/21/15 Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge
    7/22/15 St. Louis, MO @ The Ready Room
    7/23/15 Minneapolis, MN @ The Cedar
    7/26/15 Chicago, IL @ Wicker Park Fest
    7/28/15 Toronto, ON @ Lee's Palace
    7/30/15 Boston, MA @ Paradise
    7/31/15 New York, NY @ Webster Hall
    8/1/15 Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club

    These are the Ghost Notes we want to pass.

    —Amy Sciarretto

    'Ghost Notes' by Veruca Salt is released July 10, 2015.

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Veruca Salt

    Tags: Veruca Salt, Nina Gordon, Louise Post, Steve Lack, Jim Shapiro, Brad Wood

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart