• > Home
  • > News
  • > 7 Year Bitch to Release First Album in Nearly Two Decades, ‘Live at Moe’
  • 7 Year Bitch to Release First Album in Nearly Two Decades, ‘Live at Moe’

    Mon, 14 Dec 2015 14:55:07

    7 Year Bitch to Release First Album in Nearly Two Decades, ‘Live at Moe’ -

    7 Year Bitch Videos

    • 7 Year Bitch - The Scratch
    • 7 Year Bitch - 24,900 Miles Per Hour

    more 7 year bitch videos »

    7 Year Bitch Live at Moe

    Legendary Seattle grunge band 7 Year Bitch recently announced it will release its first album in nearly 20 years, Live at Moe. The live album was recorded at then-Seattle club Moe (now known as Neumos) in 1996, the same year the band released its last studio album, Gato Negro. Live at Moe is slated for release January 15, 2016 via MOE Recordings.

    MOE Recordings is a new and interesting venture; after we posted last week about another concert recorded at the venue in 1996 as part of the recent Flaming Lips box set, Heady Nuggs, today we learn that, according to the label's website, "in January 2016, MOE Recordings will begin releasing these [grunge era] recordings starting with Seattle punk legends 7 Year Bitch."

    In the past few years, many female-fronted bands from the '90s have been stepping up to get the due that was so handily given to male acts of the era. Bands and acts like Luscious Jackson, Sleater-Kinney, Kathleen Hanna, L7, Cibo Matto, Babes in Toyland, and more have all resumed places on headlining tours and festivals, some with new albums in tow. It's timely and fitting that MOE Recordings will launch the live series with a show from 7 Year Bitch, the band that was formed in 1990 by drummer Valerie Agnew, vocalist Selene Vigil-Wilk, guitarist Stefanie Sargent, and bassist Elizabeth Davis-Simpson. With an album like 1994's ¡Viva Zapata!, the group honors other female Seattle rockers like Mia Zapata, the murdered frontwoman for punk band The Gits, while offering up a blistering, resonant sound for today.

    This release will include what's been called "a career-spanning set which includes ferocious live renditions of audience favorites "The Scratch", "Lorna", and "M.I.A.", as well as deeper cuts such as "Crying Shame" and "The Midst." Live at Moe is available for pre-order here, as a digital and CD release, and on limited edition 180 gram red and black vinyl.

    You can check out "Miss Understood" over at Billboard or Soundcloud.

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    Buy 7 Year Bitch music on iTunes

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on 7 Year Bitch

    Tags: 7 Year Bitch, Valerie Agnew, Stefanie Sargent, Elizabeth Davis, Selene Vigil

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart