• > Home
  • > News
  • > Album Review: Morgan Page 'DC To Light'
  • Album Review: Morgan Page 'DC To Light'

    Wed, 10 Jun 2015 15:50:20

    Album Review: Morgan Page 'DC To Light' -

    Morgan Page Photos

    • Morgan Page - Morgan Page by Devin Colvin
    • Morgan Page - Morgan Page by Devin Colvin
    • Morgan Page - Morgan Page by Devin Colvin

    more morgan page photos »

    Morgan Page Videos

    • Morgan Page - Farewell (ft. Chris Batson)
    • Morgan Page - Open Heart (ft. Lissie)

    more morgan page videos »

    A soundtrack of undeniable electro anthems.

    Morgan Page DC to Light

    Morgan Page does something better than most electronic dance music artists and producers, and that's craft songs. It's not just about a hook or a beat for the Grammy Award-nominated Los Angeles-based dance floor luminary, but it's about the complete melody and experience. It's always been that way, but there's no better example than his fourth full-length album, DC to Light [Nettwerk]. Following the propulsive energy and progressive expansion of 2012's In the Air, which boasted the lithe title track with Sultan & Ned Shepard & BT featuring Angela McCluskey, and a rather mind-blowing 3D show, Morgan continues down a path of evolution with the song always in mind on DC To Light.

    The record begins on a soulful note with the shuddering and shimmering swoon of "No Ordinary Life" featuring Angela McCluskey. It sets the tone for the 11 tracks to follow by tempering radio-size melodies with intricate and immersive production. That thread continues during one of many standouts "Open Heart" featuring Lissie. The record's emotional narrative starts to clearly unfold at this point. Rather than rely on simple flash meant for the "drop," that big room crowd, or the festival circuit, Morgan goes the extra mile to elegantly architect an entire experience with the full record. David Jackson's vocals punctuate "Save You" with an effusive charisma, while Meiko serves up one of her best performances to date on the ponderous "Think Of You." Morgan pushes his collaborators to deliver their best as the tracks themselves really call for that extra shine.

    Listen To "Open Heart" [Featuring Lissie]

    <12> Single Page

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Morgan Page

    Tags: Morgan Page, Lissie, Chris Batson, Angela McCluskey, BT, Meiko, Sultan & Ned Shepard, Candice Pillay

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart