• > Home
  • > News
  • > Album Review: Sweet & Lynch "Only To Rise"
  • Album Review: Sweet & Lynch "Only To Rise"

    Wed, 28 Jan 2015 10:36:47

    Album Review: Sweet & Lynch "Only To Rise" - By ARTISTdirect.com editor in chief Rick Florino...

    Lynch Mob Videos

    • Lynch Mob - RIVER OF LOVE

    more lynch mob videos »

    Rock 'n' roll just hasn't been uplifting in forever. Sweet & Lynch buck that trend and start their own with Only To Rise. The formidable combination of one of the world's greatest shredders George Lynch—you know him from Lynch Mob and Dokken—and Stryper singer Michael Sweet as well as James LoMenzo on bass [ex-Megadeth, Black Label Society] and ex-Whitesnake basher Brian Tichy makes for a spirited, slick, and soulful 12-song roller coaster ride.

    Whether it's the walloping and wild opener "The Wish" or the inspiring titular conclusion, everything converges in one cohesive vision where invigorating riffs and searing solos abound. The rhythm section feels downright fierce, especially backing Sweet's towering and instantly recognizable wail, while Lynch displays some of his best playing ever—that's saying a lot too.

    By the end, you'll be waving your hands, singing along, and maybe even dancing, but most importantly, you'll feel like you had a great time...Isn't that what this kind of music's supposed to be about in the first place?

    Rick Florino

    Have you heard Only To Rise?

    Get the album on iTunes!

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Lynch Mob

    Tags: Lynch Mob, Dokken, James LoMenzo, Brian Tichy, Michael Sweet, George Lynch

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart