• > Home
  • > News
  • > Album Review: Trip Lee “Rise”
  • Album Review: Trip Lee “Rise”

    Fri, 14 Nov 2014 10:56:05

    Album Review: Trip Lee “Rise” - By ARTISTdirect.com editor in chief Rick Florino…

    Trip Lee Videos

    • Trip Lee - Sweet Victory ft. Dimitri McDowell and Leah Smith
    • Trip Lee - THE INVASION (HERO)

    more trip lee videos »

    Trip Lee lives up to his new album’s title Rise.

    On his fifth album, he builds a genuine classic that’s bolstered by resounding guitar solos, piano, and otherworldly and entrancing production. During the likes of “Lights On”, he unleashes captivating bars before an uplifting and undeniable hook. Trip confidently struts through the production with a fiery cadence and infectious energy that’s as palpable as it is powerful. He gets poetic on the epic “Manolo”, trading verses with Reach Records label boss Lecrae, proclaiming, “I do it for the turn up, got that ammo locked and loaded.” They take you to “Manolo”, and you never one leave.

    Speaking of potent collaborations, he and Andy Mineo go toe-to-toe on the bombastically energetic “Insomniac” with a refrain that will keep you up and on your feet. The final one-two of “I’m Gone” and “Sweet Victory” sees Trip stretch both lyrically and melodically, yielding two of the most memorable entries into his already formidable category.

    He’s risen to the occasion and made an album that will make a positive impact.

    Rick Florino

    What’s your favorite Trip Lee song?

    Get Rise on iTunes!

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Trip Lee

    Tags: Trip Lee, Lecrae, Andy Mineo

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart