• > Home
  • > News
  • > Album Review: While She Sleeps 'Brainwashed'
  • Album Review: While She Sleeps 'Brainwashed'

    Thu, 07 May 2015 16:16:50

    Album Review: While She Sleeps 'Brainwashed' -

    While She Sleeps Videos

    • While She Sleeps - Brainwashed (Official Video)
    • While She Sleeps - Our Legacy (Official Video)

    more while she sleeps videos »

    Sheffield, UK quintet have a recipe to save heavy music on their second full-length…

    While She Sleeps churn out an earnest, entrancing, and enigmatic musical statement on their second full-length album, Brainwashed [Search and Destroy/Razor & Tie]. In 2012, the Sheffield UK innovative metallic fivesome—Lawrence "Loz" Taylor [vocals], Sean Long [lead guitar, piano], Mat Welsh [rhythm guitar], Aaran Mckenzie [bass], and Adam Savage [drums]—made waves the world over with This Is The Six and even scored "Best British Newcomer" at that year's Kerrang! Awards. Loz bounced back from throat surgery in 2014 and poured literally every inch of his energy and soul into this crucial follow-up.

    As packed of a genre as heavy music is these days, when you stand out, you really stand out. Simply put, While She Sleeps stand in a league of their own. The guitars and drums lock in with the kind of mathematical precision that made the world fall in love with Lamb of God, but there's a soulful looseness that makes the execution even more graspable during the likes of "New World Torture." However, it's "Your Evolution," which bends from a bashing intensity into a haunting and hypnotic bridge punctuated by Loz's intelligible and intelligent roar. When you can really hear what a metal singer is belting, you feel it the most. That isn't lost on While She Sleeps. Intensity never waivers as Loz brutally exorcises demons on "Our Legacy" in between searing leads that serve as the perfect complement.

    Watch the Video for "Our Legacy"

    Heavy music needs a band that's this daring and adept at merging different dynamics into one cohesive and coherent attack. They siphon the most meaningful and punchy elements of modern metal into a hybrid that doesn't just separate them it elevates them. They've got that same kind of fire Killswitch Engage had at the beginning, and they're poised for some serious destruction in 2015.

    The age of While She Sleeps is just beginning now. Wake up to the future.

    Rick Florino

    'Brainwashed' by While She Sleeps is available at iTunes.

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on While She Sleeps

    Tags: While She Sleeps

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart