• > Home
  • > News
  • > Austra Share New Song "Home"
  • Austra Share New Song "Home"

    Wed, 13 Mar 2013 14:11:35

    Austra Share New Song "Home" - It's from their new album "Olympia"

    The xx Photos

    • The xx - NEW YORK, NY - MARCH 30: (EXCLUSIVE COVERAGE) Lady Gaga and Oliver Sim of The XX backstage at Roseland Ballroom on March 30, 2014 in New York City.
    • The xx - NEW YORK, NY - MARCH 30: (EXCLUSIVE COVERAGE) Lady Gaga and Oliver Sim of The XX backstage at Roseland Ballroom on March 30, 2014 in New York City.
    • The xx - British band ''The XX''  performs during the Colours of Ostrava music festival on July 20, 2013 in Ostrava city, North Moravia.

    more the xx photos »

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    New music alert!

    Austra have shared the new song "Home" from Olympia, which is out on June 18.

    Olympia is an album of transformation. Though it has only been two years since Austra's 2010 debut Feel It Break, it presents a quantum evolution in the Toronto-based band's sound, structure and style.

    After three years of non-stop international touring with the likes of the xx, Grimes and The Gossip, when it came time to record Olympia, Austra had evolved into a complex collaborative effort between its six members. "Previously, I would flesh out songs before I brought them to the band, but this time I left them bare and let the others fill them in," explains Katie Stelmanis, the principal songwriter/vocalist.

    Olympia is also the first confessional record for Stelmanis as evidenced by the heartfelt lyrics of piano driven lead single "Home," which you can enjoy below.

    "'Home' expresses the anxieties of waiting up all night for a lover to return," the singer said. "I was mad and upset and the song just wrote itself."

    The album touches on a range of sentiments that stem from a relationship ending, a relationship beginning, and friends' struggles with addiction and motivation. Despite the sometimes dark lyrics written in collaboration with band member Sari Lightman, Olympia is bubbly and buoyant— fundamentally a dance record, which Stelmanis says was the band's aim all along. "We are really into dense harmonies and big beautiful melodies, but I also love techno and dance music. I wanted to bring those elements together," she said."

    Listen to "Home" below. It reminds us of the ethereal, haunting and otherworldly vocals of Björk and Florence + the Machine and it captures the all-too-familiar feeling of waiting for a lover's return.

    Tour Dates:

    03-14 Austin, TX - Hype Hotel (Hype Machine SXSW)
    03-15 Austin, TX - The Mohawk (Windish SXSW)
    03-16 Austin, TX - Elysium (Moog SXSW)
    03-16 Austin, TX - Old Emo's (Brooklynvegan SXSW)
    06-02 Dublin, IE - Forbidden Fruit
    06-06 Zurich, SE - Plaza
    06-07 Luzerne, SE - Sudpol
    06-08 Yverdon-les Bains, SE - L'Amalgame
    06-10 Amsterdam, NL - Bitterzoet
    06-12 Paris, FR - Nouvelle Casino
    06-14 Berlin, DE - Lido
    06-17 London, UK - Hoxton Bar Grill
    06-20 Brooklyn, NY - Music Hall of Williamsburg
    06-23 Los Angeles, LA – Troubadour
    06-26 San Francisco, CA - The Independent

    Track Listing:

    1. What We Done?
    2. Forgive Me
    3. Painful Like
    4. Sleep
    5. Home
    6. Fire
    7. I Don't Care (I'm a Man)
    8. We Become
    9. Reconcile
    10. Annie (Oh muse, you)
    11. You Changed My Life
    12. Hurt Me Now

    Did you like "Home?" Are you into Austra? We are!

    —Carly Costello

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Austra

    Tags: Austra, The xx, Grimes, Gossip, Björk, Florence + the Machine

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart