• > Home
  • > News
  • > Bloc Party Frontman Releasing Solo Album
  • Bloc Party Frontman Releasing Solo Album

    Tue, 13 Apr 2010 10:12:29

    Bloc Party Frontman Releasing Solo Album - <i>The Boxer</i> is out June 22 on Glassnote

    Bloc Party Photos

    • Bloc Party - Kele Okereke, singer of the indie rock band Bloc Party performs on stage during the 21st edition of the Vieilles Charrues music festival on July 20, 2012 in Carhaix-Plouguer, western France. The event takes place until July 22, 2012.
    • Bloc Party - Matt Tong, du groupe de rock anglais 'Bloc Party', est photographié le 07 février 2005 à Paris. Le premier album des Anglais de Bloc Party, 'Silent Alarm', l'un des disques les plus attendus de ce début d'année 2005, sort le 14 février 2005 dans le monde entier, un album à qui la presse britannique et européenne prédit depuis plusieurs mois un destin identique à celui des Ecossais de Franz Ferdinand. Matt Tong, drummer of British band Bloc Party is pictured 07 February 2005 in Paris.
    • Bloc Party - Bloc Party show everyone else how it's done by blazing through a set of their hits at the T-Mobile Transmission taping at the Corn Factory in Birmingham on April 5, 2007.

    more bloc party photos »

    Kele Okereke Videos

    • Kele Okereke - Doubt
    • Sub Focus - Turn It Around

    more kele okereke videos »

    Hipsters rejoice, thanks to the magnetic pull the studio represents for Bloc Party singer/guitarist Kele Okereke, who will release his first solo album, The Boxer via Glassnote Records. The album is due out June 22. The record is said to center more on synths and to blend pop and rock. Okerke originally planned to take a minute off from music, since Bloc Party have toured their asses off for five years, but he veered off that planned path and wound up back in the studio, playing with new textures and instruments, steering clear of the guitar in favor of beats. You can't escape the gravitational pull of the studio when you're an artist, no doubt.

    The track listing for The Boxer:

    01. Walk Tall
    02. On The Lam
    03. Tenderoni
    04. The Other Side
    05. Everything You Wanted
    06. New Rules
    07. Unholy Thoughts
    08. Rise
    09. All The Things I Could Never Say
    10. Yesterday's Gone

    Does the title make you think of the Simon and Garfunkel song?

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Kele Okereke

    Tags: Kele Okereke, Bloc Party

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart