• > Home
  • > News
  • > Brian Jonestown Massacre Tambourinist Joel Gion Releasing New Solo LP
  • Brian Jonestown Massacre Tambourinist Joel Gion Releasing New Solo LP

    Tue, 14 Nov 2017 09:58:15

    Brian Jonestown Massacre Tambourinist Joel Gion Releasing New Solo LP -

    The Brian Jonestown Massacre Videos

    • Brian Jonestown Massacre - Hide and Seek (Encore) by Brian Jonestown Massacre
    • Brian Jonestown Massacre - Not If You Were The Last Dandy by Brian Jonestown Massacre

    more the brian jonestown massacre videos »

    Joel Gion, the tambourinist for The Brian Jonestown Massacre, will release a new solo effort this Friday, November 17. Joel Gion is the second full album from the percussionist, following 2014's Apple Bonkers and a 2011 EP, Extended Play. Both prior releases featured collaborations with many of his Brian Jonestown Massacre bandmates, including frontman Anton Newcombe and guitarist-vocalist Matt Hollywood. Gion has been one of the Brian Jonestown Massacre's most consistent members amidst the hectic reshuffling of the band's lineup by Newcombe, who founded the group in 1990.

    Gion said of the new project, "This album was self informed by some life spanning experiences such as attending an Ike & Tina Turner show from inside my mother's tummy, being a smeared-lipstick Goth teen on the run from the rednecks, to being an up-all-week E's and whizz kid in the lineup that introduced you to The Brian Jonestown Massacre. Now just add flute."

    Fans of The Brian Jonestown Massacre may remember Gion's appearances in the documentary film Dig!, which featured seven years of the band's antics, especially Newcombe's, alongside a comparison with the career and development of fellow rockers The Dandy Warhols. The film won the Documentary Grand Jury Prize at the 2004 Sundance Film Festival.

    Fan who pre-order the nine-track eponymous LP will receive three tracks now, streaming via the Bandcamp app. It will ship as a limited edition vinyl with black and red splattering all over a milk-colored LP, or also in traditional vinyl, and will be available as a digital download.

    Joel Gion Tracklist:
    1. Zig Zag
    2. Partner
    3. Come To Light
    4. Conjecture
    5. Divide
    6. December
    7. The Nihilist
    8. Gone
    9. Mercury In Retrograde

    Download Joel Gion music on iTunes here

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on The Brian Jonestown Massacre

    Tags: The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Joel Gion

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart