• > Home
  • > News
  • > Check Out Juan MacLean's "Everybody Get Close"
  • Check Out Juan MacLean's "Everybody Get Close"

    Wed, 21 Sep 2011 14:39:13

    Check Out Juan MacLean's "Everybody Get Close" - Indulge in more electronic fun!

    Chairlift Photos

    • Chairlift - BROOKLYN, NY - JUNE 22:  Caroline Polachek of Chairlift performs at Tropfest New York 2013, the world's largest short film festival, at Prospect Park on June 22 in Brooklyn.
    • Chairlift - NEW YORK, NY - FEBRUARY 06:  Caroline Polachek of Chairlift performs onstage at the Wildfox Fall 2013 Collection Presentation & Live Performance at Capitale on February 6, 2013 in New York City.
    • Chairlift - NEW YORK, NY - SEPTEMBER 06:  Vocalist Caroline Polachek, drummer Jamie Ingalls and bassist Patrick Wimberly of Chairlift perform at Fashion's Night Out 2012 at Prada Broadway on September 6, 2012 in New York City.

    more chairlift photos »

    Chairlift Videos

    • Chairlift - Crying in Public
    • Chairlift - Moth to the Flame

    more chairlift videos »

    Go here to rock Juan MacLean's electro rocker "Everybody Get Close." It's full of distorted, computerized beats that make me want to turn my MacBook Pro into my own recording studio!

    Since the release of 2009's The Future Will Come, John "Juan" MacLean has stayed quite busy remixing artists like Chairlift, Matthew Dear, The Tough Alliance and forthcoming remixes for Yoko Ono and Stevie Nicks. He's also appeared on both the Holy Ghost! Static on the Wire! EP (shredding guitar solo!) and took front man duties on Shit Robot's "Grim Receiver." Juan MacLean is now gearing up for the Nov. 7 release of Everybody Get Close on DFA Records. The digital only album features previously released outtakes and re-mastered tracks as well as remixes from some of his most talented colleagues.

    Interspersed among the eleven songs are five that originally appeared on Find a Way, an EP only previously available at Juan MacLean live shows. "Find A Way" opens the record with call-and-response vocals from MacLean and bandmate Nancy Whang atop an electronic pop base, followed by "Let's Talk About Me," which bounds blissfully throughout. "Deviant Device" is laden with dubby percussion and echo-drenched synths reminiscent of Basic Channel. "X2" offers up wide hall of house and robotized vocals. Short and sweet track "The Robot" is filled with mechanical sounds and extraterrestrial noises. "Feel So Good," from the DJ-Kicks compilation also features vocals from Whang and is built on a rolling loop and an indefatigable beat provided by late drummer Jerry Fuchs. Japanese bonus track "When I Am With You" leisurely moves along on a relaxing romantic groove. Album closer and title track "Everybody Get Close" has mechanical vocals and funky synth bleats that show faint traces of major influences like Zapp and S.O.S. Band, respectively.

    What did you think of "Everybody Get Close?"

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on The Juan MacLean

    Tags: The Juan MacLean, Chairlift, Matthew Dear, Yoko Ono, Stevie Nicks, Holy Ghost!, Shit Robot, Basic Channel, Zapp

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart