• > Home
  • > News
  • > Christopher Owens of Girls to Release Debut Solo Album on January 15
  • Christopher Owens of Girls to Release Debut Solo Album on January 15

    Tue, 30 Oct 2012 10:48:31

    Christopher Owens of Girls to Release Debut Solo Album on January 15 - Check out the first two tracks

    Christopher Owens Videos

    • Christopher Owens - Nothing More Than Everything To Me

    more christopher owens videos »

    Christopher Owens of Girls will release his debut solo album on January 15.

    Named for a girl he met whilst in France for a festival performance, Lysandre - written, recorded and sequenced as a complete narrative - was inspired by the events of Girls' first ever tour in the summer of 2008. Owens describes the record as a "coming of age story, a road trip story, a love story."

    The San Francisco-based musician goes on to explain that "Lysandre could easily be mistaken as an album about a love affair. But it's much more than that."

    Written almost entirely in one creative outpouring and recorded with former Girls producer Doug Boehm, Lysandre follows Owens from San Francisco – where he's filled with excitement after writing his band's album – to New York City and on to the French Riviera - where he falls in love with the record's namesake - before a melancholy return home and a beautifully articulated epilogue. Perfectly framed by intricate instrumentation, gorgeous backing vocals and pristine production, Owens' enthralling, personal songwriting takes center stage and delivers a heartbreaking rumination on love, longing, friendship, adventure and the thrill of finding an audience for your art.

    The first two tracks from the album - "Lysandre's Theme" and "Here We Go" -- are listenable www.christopherowensonline.com.

    Track Listing:

    1: Lysandre's Theme
    2: Here We Go
    3: New York City
    4: A Broken Heart
    5: Here We Go Again
    6: Riviera Rock
    7: Love Is In The Ear Of The Listener
    8: Lysandre
    9: Everywhere You Knew
    10: Closing Theme
    11: Part Of Me (Lysandre's Epilogue)

    Did you listen to the lilting, lush and love-inspiring songs?

    —Maggie Pannacione

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Christopher Owens

    Tags: Christopher Owens, Girls

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart
    • 14
    • 393
    • Snow
    • 14
    • 175