• > Home
  • > News
  • > Christopher Owens to Release New Album in September
  • Christopher Owens to Release New Album in September

    Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:17:19

    Christopher Owens to Release New Album in September - Listen to a track

    Christopher Owens Videos

    • Christopher Owens - Nothing More Than Everything To Me

    more christopher owens videos »

    Christopher Owens is set to release his second solo album A New Testament on September 30, a follow up to his debut, Lysandre.

    In the last few years, Christopher has been on an eventful journey from disbanding the successful Girls duo after two albums, releasing his first ever solo album and stepping into the fashion world by becoming the face of Saint Laurent for their Spring/Summer campaign (shot by Hedi Slimane) as well as Isabel Marant's much coveted line for H&M. The album signifies the new chapter in Christopher's unique story.

    That's some serious friendage in the fashion industry, ya'all.

    Christopher discusses his inspirations behind the album as well as those he worked with in his own words:

    "Every new album is a new testament.

    It's a testament to honest, earnest, simple songwriting—'three chords and the truth,' songs inspired by the fundamentals of American music—Gospel, Country, R&B, picking the songs for this record was exciting enough for me, because they're some of the ones that speak to me the most, of my memories, real life experiences, my battles, my victories. But hearing the record actually take form and come to life was even more exciting than I imagined. The new ground we worked towards—playing with Ed Efira on pedal steel for the first time, all of it was an amazing experience.

    This album is nothing if not a testament to the power of music, and to the musicians that made it—John Anderson, Darren Weiss, Makeda—who all helped make Father Son Holy Ghost what it is, Danny Eisenberg—who was introduced to me during the sessions for Broken Dreams Club and played again on Father, Son, Holy Ghost, this is now our third record together, and I think that's what shows.

    It's also my third record with Doug Boehm, who's always made me feel I had the help I needed when I needed it, and the support I needed when I felt strongly about sticking to an idea.

    I could go on and on about all of these people—David Sutton, who I met recording Lysandre, just watching him play is such a pleasure. It's the intensity with which all these musicians approach the songs that makes me so excited and proud to play with them again and again.

    And the excitement, the joy, the sincerity, the craftsmanship, it's all captured on this record. A new testament."

    Watch the "Nothing More Than Everything to Me" video.

    A New Testament Track Listing:

    1. My Troubled Heart
    2. Nothing More Than Everything to Me
    3. It Comes Back to You
    4. Stephen
    5. Oh My Love
    6. Nobody's Business
    7. A Heart Akin the Wind
    8. Key To My Heart
    9. Over And Above Myself
    10. Never Wanna See That Look Again
    11. Overcoming Me
    12. I Just Can't Live Without You (But I''m Still Alive)

    Are you going to have a "testament" with Christopher Owens?

    —Carly Costello

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Christopher Owens

    Tags: Christopher Owens, John Anderson, Darren Weiss, Danny Eisenberg, Girls, Doug Boehm

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart