• > Home
  • > News
  • > Eels Complete Two Retrospective Compilations
  • Eels Complete Two Retrospective Compilations

    Thu, 15 Nov 2007 15:22:30

    Eels Complete Two Retrospective Compilations - Yes, that 'Novocaine For the Soul' band

    Eels Videos

    • Eels - Trouble With Dreams
    • Eels - Peach Blossom

    more eels videos »

    Two very different Eels collections are set to hit stores January 15, both of which serve as a glaring reminder that there's more to the pitch-black pop band than its Alternative Nation breakthrough "Novocaine For the Soul." On the crowd pleaser tip is Meet the Eels: Essential Eels Vol. 1 1996 – 2006, a career overview hand-selected by main Eel Mark Oliver Everett, better known simply as "E." And for the fans we have Useless Trinkets, a 50-track rundown of B-sides, rarities, and unreleased jams. Both releases include a bonus DVD and Everett's full approval.

    "We wanted to make something nice for the fans," he told Billboard.com. "And now seems like a good time. I listened to everything and typed my own note for each song."

    As for the assumed notion that B-sides = throwaway tracks, Everett added, "Some stuff I sit on, and it gets earmarked for another project. To me, a song is not really a B-side. It's not scrapped because it's inferior. Sometimes they just don't fit thematically with what we were doing."

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Eels

    Tags: Eels

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart