• > Home
  • > News
  • > Ex-Beta Band Members Land as Aliens
  • Ex-Beta Band Members Land as Aliens

    Fri, 13 Apr 2007 11:41:00

    Ex-Beta Band Members Land as Aliens - Mulder's got himself a favorite new band

    The Beta Band Videos

    • Beta Band, The - BROKE
    • the Beta Band - SQUARES

    more the beta band videos »

    John Maclean and Robin Jones, two ex-members of the Beta Band, will release their first record as the Aliens on June 19th via the Astralwerks label. Astronomy For Dogs is the duo's collaboration with sometime-Beta Band member Gordon Anderson, who has also recorded solo records under the name Lone Pigeon.

    "When the Beta Band finished in 2004, John and I got to talking, and we knew we wanted to work with Gordon," Jones told Billboard.com. "I've always been aware that he has this amazing cache of songs. He missed out on the Beta Band, so it's like a second chance, for him."

    The Aliens will descend on the U.K. in June, with tentative plans for a later U.S. invasion. Although the Beta Band never quite connected with American audiences, Jones says, "I think they'll respond well in the States to this."

    Tracklist for Astronomy for Dogs:

    01 Setting Sun
    02 Robot Man
    03 I Am The Unknown
    04 Tomorrow
    05 Rox
    06 Only Waiting
    07 She Don't Love Me
    08 Glover
    09 Honest Again
    10 The Happy Song
    11 Caravan

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on The Aliens

    Tags: The Aliens, The Beta Band, Lone Pigeon

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart