• > Home
  • > News
  • > Former Soul Coughing Singer Finishes Fifth Solo LP
  • Former Soul Coughing Singer Finishes Fifth Solo LP

    Tue, 06 Nov 2007 10:32:02

    Former Soul Coughing Singer Finishes Fifth Solo LP - 'Golden Delicious' has nothing to do with apples

    Mike Doughty Videos

    • Mike Doughty - The Idiot Kings
    • Mike Doughty - Sunshine

    more mike doughty videos »

    Mike Doughty has released details of his fifth solo record, Golden Delicious, due out on February 19 through ATO Records. Produced once again by Grammy winner/Semisonic singer Dan Wilson (a.k.a. that "Closing Time" guy), it features an all-star backing band of multi-instrumentalist Andrew Livingston, drummer Pete McNeal (Cake, Jem, Gary Jules), keyboardist John Kirby (Black Eyed Peas) and bassist John Munson (Semisonic, Trip Shakespeare).

    As for what's been on Doughty's mind lately, Golden Delicious is a politically charged effort "despite the sweet and tasty title," according to a press release, which also said that the song "Fort Hood" was "named for the U.S. army base that has suffered the greatest number of casualties in the Iraq War." Another "Super Bon Bon" affair this is not.

    Golden Delicious tracklisting:

    1. Fort Hood
    2. I Just Want the Girl in the Blue Dress to Keep on Dancing
    3. Put It Down
    4. More Bacon Than the Pan Can Handle
    5. 27 Jennifers
    6. I Wrote a Song About Your Car
    7. I Got the Drop on You
    8. Wednesday (Contra La Puerta)
    9. Like a Luminous Girl
    10. Nectarine (Part One)
    11. Navigating By the Stars at Night

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Mike Doughty

    Tags: Mike Doughty

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart