• > Home
  • > News
  • > Frank Ocean Announces New Album, "Boys Don't Cry"
  • Frank Ocean Announces New Album, "Boys Don't Cry"

    Tue, 02 Aug 2016 10:56:06

    Frank Ocean Announces New Album, "Boys Don't Cry" -

    Frank Ocean Videos

    • Beyoncé - Superpower
    • Pyramids - Saturday Night Live (2012)

    more frank ocean videos »

    It has been announced that Frank Ocean will release the follow-up to his acclaimed 2012 album channel ORANGE this Friday via Apple Music. The new album, Boys Don't Cry, will be sold as well as a print publication available the same day at Apple Stores, the New York Times reports.

    The internet was buzzing with excitement yesterday when Ocean's official website started broadcasting a mysterious live stream that appeared to suggest the arrival of a new material. Today's announcement makes good on that event, which wasn't the artist's first hint of new material. Earlier in July, Ocean posted a picture of a library book slip showing a range of potential "due dates" for the record.

    Ocean had been working on the project since at least January 2013. Details around the recording process remain largely secretive, but Danger Mouse, Hit-Boy, Pharrell Williams, and Rodney Jerkins were reported to be involved in production duties.

    In December 2014, rapper Lil B posted a Tumblr photo showing him in the studio with Ocean. "RARE photo of LIL B x FRANK OCEAN IN THE STUDIO TOGETHER!! NEW MUSIC COMING SOON! Collect this!," B wrote.

    Last November Ocean posted a lo-fi track "Memrise," to his Soundcloud account - his first new material since channel ORANGE. Most recently the singer most recently co-wrote two songs, "My Willing Heart" and "Always," on James Blake's most recent LP, The Colour in Anything.

    Read Frank Ocean Writes Personal Statement On Orlando Tragedy

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    Buy Frank Ocean music on iTunes

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Frank Ocean

    Tags: Frank Ocean

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart
    • 14
    • 393
    • Snow
    • 14
    • 175