• > Home
  • > News
  • > Free Download - ATO Records Summer Sampler Featuring Chicano Batman, Benjamin Booker & More
  • Free Download - ATO Records Summer Sampler Featuring Chicano Batman, Benjamin Booker & More

    Thu, 03 Aug 2017 12:17:53

    Free Download - ATO Records Summer Sampler Featuring Chicano Batman, Benjamin Booker & More -

    Jessica Lea Mayfield Photos

    • Jessica Lea Mayfield - NASHVILLE, TN - OCTOBER 13:  Jessica Lea Mayfield performs during the 10th Americana Music Association Honors and Awards Show at the Ryman Auditorium on October 13, 2011 in Nashville, Tennessee.

    more jessica lea mayfield photos »

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    ATO Records is known for its quality stable of artists. From Alabama Shakes, Rodrigo Y Gabriela, and My Morning Jacket to Okkervil River, Primus, and Blind Pilot, the New York-based label is one of only a few independent record companies who have no problem competing with the big boys.

    Every few seasons ATO offers up a free download of some of its acts, so listeners can get a feel for what the label is putting out. It comes in the form of an expertly put together playlist and features tracks from the record company's most recent releases.

    This summer's set is pure groovin'. It's an ideal playlist for days spent barbequing or on the beach that should get you through even the latest parts of what is sure to be another Indian summer and into the first cold chills of fall.

    Chicano Batman kicks off the download with a funky bass line, which seamlessly moves its way into one of the label's up-and-coming stars Nick Hakim. Before you know it, you're five tracks in and listening to Benjamin Booker serenade you with his soulful melodies and smooth guitar licks.

    A highlight of the sampler for any lovers of rock 'n' roll and psychedelia comes along a little over midway through, and finds J. Roddy Walston & The Business, The Claypool Lennon Delirium, and King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard playing one after the other.

    The album ends on summer-y notes with warm accents from Phish member Mike Gordon. He delivers an almost Chili Peppers-esque jam that is sure to sum up all those summer feels.

    Check out the full tracklist below and download the ATO Summer Sampler here.

    1. Chicano Batman — Freedom Is Free
    2. Nick Hakim — Roller Skates
    3. Slow Dancer — Don't Believe
    4. Hurray for the Riff Raff — Living In The City
    5. Benjamin Booker — Believe
    6. Jessica Lea Mayfield — Sorry Is Gone
    7. Margaret Glaspy — No Matter Who
    8. J. Roddy Walston & The Business — The Wanting
    9. The Claypool Lennon Delirium — Satori
    10. King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard — The Lord Of Lightning
    11. The Bronx — Sore Throat
    12. Old 97's — All Who Wander
    13. Primus — The Seven
    14. SOJA — Bad News
    15. Mike Gordon — Steps

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Nick Hakim

    Tags: Nick Hakim, Chicano Batman, Slow Dancer, Hurray for the Riff Raff, Benjamin Booker, Jessica Lea Mayfield, Margaret Glaspy, J. Roddy Walston and the Business, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, The Bronx, Old 97's, Primus, SOJA, Mike Gordon

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart