• > Home
  • > News
  • > Free Music Download: Future, Frank Ocean & King Chase "Prey For Religion"
  • Free Music Download: Future, Frank Ocean & King Chase "Prey For Religion"

    Thu, 09 Mar 2017 09:20:20

    Free Music Download: Future, Frank Ocean & King Chase "Prey For Religion"  -

    Future Videos

    • Future - You Da Baddest
    • Future - PIE

    more future videos »

    Over on DatPiff.com, there's an exclusive free download featuring some of the busiest rappers currently in the game. Future — who has just dropped two full length albums in two weeks, and Frank Ocean, who also shared two albums in a short burst of creative outpouring — are featured on a new mixtape from friend and peer, King Chase on his sharply titled "Prey For Religion".

    King Chase takes just seven tracks in this mixtape and lands every blow with good measure. The selection is top-loaded with Future turning up for opening track "Boyz in da Hood" and Frank Ocean joining the action for second track "Doing Numbers". The two collaborators know their worth, and it's clear there's an awareness of having smartly dressed doormen that the audiences recognize. Those uninitiated to King Chase will most likely come for the headline-grabbing featured artists — but soon they'll feel the sense of scope being delivered on following tracks.

    "Sacrifice" is a track that breaks all dressing down to the bare minimum. Here King Chase speaks into the mic, low distorted music, no beats. "Who's speaking? King Chase" — and then the tale of life in NYC as the rapper steps up to duties in the vocal booth. The story here is continued through the rest of the mix. There's a cost of things that have been paid by Chase, as he tries to make a living while remaining true to the higher ideals. Friends have been levelling doubts in his loyalty but the rapper testifies from his position where his heart remains. We see how young men become prey to forces bigger than them.

    "Doing Numbers", the track that invites Frank Ocean into process, is one of the more spaced out moments. Chase's lyrical delivery is raspy, and like elsewhere it retains a level of authenticity where he raps like himself, and shows no signs of emulating his esteemed collaborator. There's a confidence in this kind of vulnerability. "How you think I live?" is a line that bounces back from the reverb chamber. This is bare knuckle stuff — not forceful or flighty, but exposed, raw and incredibly emotional.

    There are warmer passages — "Cali" presents an idealised approach of being anywhere but where we are. Sweet key work tests the weight of lines like "I got money in the closet," which drops syllables between kick-bass. It's a colorful passage made crisp by a click track that reminds you of influences that King Chase presumably listened to when dreaming of the chance to get in front of a mic. There's an old school sense to this, and it's good sense.

    There's an atmosphere around "Prey For Religion" that is going to linger as one of those rarities that fans of King Chase will treasure in coming years. There's a very real feeling that the two featured artists sense what we sense... this young rapper is going to achieve the good things if given just a small helping hand.

    Go — grab a download and get a sense of what's occurring with the young up-and-comers.

    Download the free King Chase "Prey for Religion" mixtape.

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Future

    Tags: Future, Frank Ocean

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart