• > Home
  • > News
  • > Free Music Download - 'Run The Jewels 3' Demands You Listen Loud
  • Free Music Download - 'Run The Jewels 3' Demands You Listen Loud

    Wed, 04 Jan 2017 09:52:36

    Free Music Download - 'Run The Jewels 3' Demands You Listen Loud -

    Run the Jewels Videos

    • DJ Shadow - Nobody Speak
    • Run The Jewels - Close Your Eyes (And Count To F***) ft. Zack de la Rocha

    more run the jewels videos »

    On Christmas eve 2016, Killer Mike and El-P, collectively known as Run The Jewels, returned with their third collaborative album, simply entitled, RTJ-3. The album had previously been promised as a release for mid January 2017, but the duo took to Twitter to announce the early arrival of the new tracks — with a characteristic message: "IT'S A CHRISTMAS F***ING MIRACLE #RTJ3 "

    The album has features from Danny Brown, Trina, Tunde Adebimpe, Kamasi Washington and Joi Gilliam, and, as with other releases from RTJ, there's a sense of communal urgency, and a vitality to the content, exemplified, of course by the premature arrival, and Killer Mike's expressed opinion of "Why wait?"

    The release was accompanied by a Portlandia sketch which shows Killer Mike and El-P in consultation with familiar-looking PR strategists as they explore a variety of laughable methods to announce a new album. You may be pleased by some of the softer edges around the music, because things get serious pretty fast from thereon out. The tunes, for the main part reflect perfectly the current state of the U.S.A. They avoid whimsy — arriving instead as a series of blows; weight after solid weight starting with album opener "Down" which is a distorted bass, an atmospheric sense of scale, and some solid advice; "Skip to the fifth when the cops in the house".

    Killer Mike was particularly vocal during the 2016 political race, from his support of Bernie Sanders to his encouragement aimed at black voters to "Give nothing unless you get something" and suggesting people abstain from the ballot unless they felt their needs were going to be directly reflected by a candidate. His sense of purpose is unsurprisingly continued here — with "Panther Like A Panther" which features Trina — where he doesn't flow as much as he rapidly cascades through a stream of consciousness, carrying lyrical rocks like "I refuse to be humble" and a call for reparations for "...my people".

    With its early release RTJ-3 took everyone by surprise, but a premature album drop — incredible and as welcome as it was — is the least memorable aspect of this album. The cohesive whole; the unrelenting locomotion of track sequencing — as momentum builds and equalizes — and the lyrical precision that passes both anger and solutions through alchemy to produce art — that is where the magic happens. This album is a manifesto as much as it is a musical expression, issued as a free release this album is a rallying cry to those in most need of community, unity of voice and, well… legit free music to lift the spirits.

    RTJ-3, arriving late in 2016, landed as a reminder of what was in the rearview mirror, and the journey that we'd just made. It also landed neatly with a series of both sarcastic and serious pointers through tracks like "Don't Get Captured", "Everybody Stay Calm", "Report To the Shareholders, Kill Your Masters" — these concepts offering release, and hope for the coming, inevitably difficult times ahead.

    During the festive holidays of 2016, RTJ-3 was easily the album of the week — it may just prove itself to be 2017's album of the year.

    Click here to grab your free download of RTJ-3

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Run the Jewels

    Tags: Run the Jewels, Killer Mike, El-P

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart