• > Home
  • > News
  • > Giraffage "Comfort" Album Review —4 out of 5 Stars
  • Giraffage "Comfort" Album Review —4 out of 5 Stars

    Fri, 22 Jun 2012 11:11:34

    Giraffage "Comfort" Album Review —4 out of 5 Stars - By Oliver Davies…

    The title of his Giraffage's new album is a perfectly accurate description of the entire piece.

    Comfort is Charlie Yin's first complete effort. He combines dream pop, electronic, and chillwave styles to create extremely relaxing and ethereal tracks.

    The foundation of each track stands steeped in bubbly, fluttering electronic grooves and tight, clean drum beats. The vocal sampling on top of this elevates the album to the next level. They range from high-pitched, glitched vocals to deep, slow, chopped-and-screwed samples, and everything in between. Comfort is incredibly diverse, hitting all the sweet spots you want while listening to chillwave. Some tracks are ethereal and soothing, while others are funky and undeniably sexy. You could jam to this album while driving, skating, smoking, and just about anything else and it will definitely feel right.

    Like the city itself, this San Francisco-based artist gives great vibes. The album flows seamlessly, and not a single track disappoints. Although he's young, Giraffage has a bright future ahead—and one hell of an album to start.

    You can pick up Comfort at Bandcamp, and also check out Giraffage's Soundcloud

    Oliver Davies

    Have you heard Comfort yet?

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Giraffage

    Tags: Giraffage

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart