• > Home
  • > News
  • > Glen Campbell to Release "See You There" on August 6
  • Glen Campbell to Release "See You There" on August 6

    Fri, 26 Apr 2013 12:01:42

    Glen Campbell to Release "See You There" on August 6 - It's new takes on his career-defining hits [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Glen Campbell Videos

    • Cascadeur - What's Your Name
    • Glen Campbell - Quits (Audio)

    more glen campbell videos »

    Country legend Glen Campbell will release a new album, See You There, on August 6. Campbell, who celebrated his 77th birthday this week, offers new takes of his career-defining hits, including "Gentle On My Mind," "By the Time I Get to Phoenix," "Hey Little One," "Wichita Lineman," "Galveston," "True Grit" and "Rhinestone Cowboy.

    If you love Glen and his catalog, this is a "MUST OWN!"

    The collection, which will be released by Surfdog Records, was produced by Dave Darling (Brian Setzer) and Surfdog founder Dave Kaplan. It also includes "There's No Me...Without You," which Campbell wrote with Julian Raymond for 2011's acclaimed Ghost on the Canvas, and "What I Wouldn't Give" and "I Wish You Were Here," which were bonus tracks from Ghost On the Canvas, and the previously unreleased "Waiting on the Comin' of My Lord," a track that was recorded during the Ghost On the Canvas sessions but never completed until now.

    The story behind See You There echoes that of GC's 1967 breakthrough album, Gentle on My Mind. Both were recordings that Campbell never intended to be released as an album, sessions that occurred simply because the songs yearned to be sung. While recording Ghost On the Canvas, Campbell found himself at a crossroads. While he forged vibrant new artistic relationships - acolytes Jakob Dylan, Paul Westerberg and Teddy Thompson penned songs for the album and it featured guest appearances by such admirers as Smashing Pumpkins' Billy Corgan, Brian Setzer and members of The Dandy Warhols - Glen simultaneously felt a tug from some of his earliest hit singles. So he laid down new vocals for these songs - and then set the tracks aside.

    Shortly after the Ghost sessions concluded, Campbell was diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. Undeterred, he embarked on a series of live dates that he dubbed "The Glen Campbell Goodbye Tour."

    Track Listing:

    1. Hey Little One
    2. Wichita Lineman
    3. Gentle On My Mind
    4. I Wish You Were Here
    5. Waiting on the Comin' of My Lord
    6. What I Wouldn't Give
    7. Galveston
    8. By the Time I Get to Phoenix
    9. There's No Me...Without You
    10. True Grit
    11. Rhinestone Cowboy
    12. Waiting on the Comin' of My Lord feat. Jose Hernandez & Mariachi Del Sol De Mexico

    Will you be checking out See You There?

    —Carly Costello

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Glen Campbell

    Tags: Glen Campbell, Brian Setzer, Julian Raymond, Jakob Dylan, Paul Westerberg, Teddy Thompson, Smashing Pumpkins, Billy Corgan, The Dandy Warhols

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart