• > Home
  • > News
  • > Hear Tracks From Joanna Newsom's Gorgeous New 'Divers'
  • Hear Tracks From Joanna Newsom's Gorgeous New 'Divers'

    Wed, 21 Oct 2015 13:40:17

    Hear Tracks From Joanna Newsom's Gorgeous New 'Divers' -

    Joanna Newsom Videos

    • Joanna Newsom - Divers
    • Joanna Newsom - Leaving The City

    more joanna newsom videos »

    Comparisons to Joni Mitchell and Kate Bush don't come cheap, and few figures in indie rock besides singer-songwriter Joanna Newsom could garner them.

    Yet with her forthcoming new release, Divers (October 23, Drag City), the 33-year-old has done just that. Newsom's fourth full length, an expansive, 11-track, harp-filled wonderland, compelled Ann Powers of NPR to write, "Newsom…[implores] clarity mongers to remember that songs gather in meanings as they move through space and time, and though there's fun in pinning down sources and allusions, a fixed end point should not be the goal." In other words, for listeners, fans, and critics alike, it's hard not to look for similarities to other artists, to help unpack the undertaking.

    Which is where those avant-leaning references come in. "Leaving the City" unmistakably calls to mind the meandering prose and whimsical compositions of Bush, while "The Things I Say" reminded Rolling Stone's Will Hermes of Mitchell. Ultimately, it's a dazzling listen, an album about "about things lost with age and progress — wisdom, beauty, innocence, love, mystery," Hermes says. To which Powers adds, "her sound remains dipped in filigree, [yet] her vision leads. Her earlier work was picaresque; Divers is novelistic."

    The album won't be available through any streaming service, so you'll have to just go out and buy it (via iTunes, Drag City, Amazon, or your favorite indie shop). Watch the mesmerizing video for "Sapokanikan" and listen to the absorbing "Leaving the City" and just try to convince yourself otherwise. Look for Newsom on tour soon.

    Watch Joanna Newsom's "Sapokanikan" Video



    Listen to Joanna Newsom's "Leaving The City"



    Joanna Newsom Tour Dates:
    Sat. Oct. 31 - Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall #
    Sun. Nov. 1 - Brighton, UK @ Dome #
    Wed. Nov. 4 - Barcelona, ES @ Barts #
    Thu. Nov. 5 - Berlin, DE @ Admiralspalast #
    Sat. Nov. 7 - Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli #
    Sun. Nov. 8 - Paris, FR @ Salle Gaveau
    Mon. Nov. 9 - London, UK @ Eventim Apollo #
    Sun. Dec. 6 - Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre*
    Mon. Dec. 7 - Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre*
    Wed. Dec. 9 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer*
    Thu. Dec. 10 - Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre*
    Sat. Dec. 12 - Munhall, PA @ Carnegie of Homestead Music Hall*
    Sun. Dec. 13 - Buffalo, NY @ Asbury Hall @ Babeville*
    Mon. Dec. 14 - Toronto, ON @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre*
    Tue. Dec. 15 - Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre*
    Wed. Dec. 16 - Chicago, IL @ Chicago Theatre*
    Thu. Dec. 17 - St. Paul, MN @ The Fitzgerald Theater*
    Fri. Dec. 18 - Madison, WI @ Orpheum Theatre*

    # = with Alasdair Roberts
    * = with Alela Diane & Ryan Francesconi

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff
    10.21.15

    'Divers' from Joanna Newsom is available on Drag City Records via iTunes.



    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Joanna Newsom

    Tags: Joanna Newsom

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart