• > Home
  • > News
  • > Independent Spirit Award Winners Announced
  • Independent Spirit Award Winners Announced

    Mon, 23 Feb 2009 11:16:55

    Independent Spirit Award Winners Announced - Mickey Rourke, Melissa Leo, Woody Allen among winners

    Mickey Rourke Videos


    more mickey rourke videos »

    The Independent Spirit Awards were handed out Saturday, February 21. The ISAs honor independently-financed films, yet many of the awards went to celebrities with recognizable names and bodies of work. Below is a list of the winners in key categories.


    The Wrestler, producers Darren Aronofsky and Scott Franklin

    Male Lead

    Mickey Rourke, The Wrestler

    Female Lead

    Melissa Leo, Frozen River

    Supporting Male

    James Franco, Milk

    Supporting Female

    Penelope Cruz, Vicky Cristina Barcelona


    Tom McCarthy, The Visitor


    James Marsh, Man on Wire


    Woody Allen, Vicky Cristina Barcelona

    Foreign Film

    Laurent Cantet, The Class

    Robert Altman Award, given to film's director, casting director, and its ensemble cast

    Charlie Kaufman, Synecdoche, New York

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Mickey Rourke

    Tags: Mickey Rourke, Penélope Cruz, Darren Aronofsky, Melissa Leo, Woody Allen, The Visitor, Vicky Cristina Barcelona

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart