• > Home
  • > News
  • > Introducing...Well Excuse Me Princess
  • Introducing...Well Excuse Me Princess

    Thu, 19 Apr 2012 10:52:08

    Introducing...Well Excuse Me Princess - They are pop punkers

    Sick of It All Videos

    • Sick Of It All - Death Or Jail
    • Sick Of It All - STEP DOWN

    more sick of it all videos »

    We want to make an introduction to Well Excuse Me Princess! It's female fronted and emerged from the pop punk and hardcore scenes, things we like!

    Playing homage to the hallowed halls of CBGB's and The Stone Pony, and rocking the larger sacred stages of Madison Square Garden and Irving Plaza are impressive career highlights for members of any band. But the talented roster of musicians in Well Excuse Me, Princess aren't going to stop there--even if that means switching gears a bit. And that's quite okay, in our opinion.

    We don't know if these seasoned veterans of the hardcore scene are reinventing "pop punk" or are pioneering a new "popcore" genre, but the catchy hooks of their debut single "Bang Head Here" will grab your attention without letting go of musicianship. The song packs its punch through frontwoman Jess Goldey (My Turn To Win).

    Her attitude and energy quickly dismiss any doubts that she can keep up with her hardcore bandmates. She shows us why she's opened for powerhouses like Sick of It All, H20, and Madball by delivering rock vocals with a sweet twist, all while locking down a big, consistent guitar sound. Her candid lyrics and addicting melodies are framed by infectious and crafty guitar riffs (Lenny Bednarz, Fahrenheit 451, District 9, Without A Cause). Aggressive drumlines (Pete LaRussa, No Redeeming Social Value, Most Precious Blood, District 9) steadily drive the song with lively drum fills and effortless double bass spurts. The song's underbelly is rounded out by slick bass walks (Arthur Smilios, Gorilla Biscuits, CIV, Token Entry) that add flavor while serving as a consistent percussive force.

    The sound has an overall upbeat vibe, a direct product of their approach. "We don't get caught up in how different the new sound we're creating is from what we normally do. We're just here to have fun" said Goldey. "I'm a woman that's been in a male-dominated hardcore scene for years. I'm used to doing something different." Different = good. Don't you love Goldey's confidence? We do!

    "Bang Head Here" is debuting on underground record label Dignified Bastard, whose founder, Kevin Gill, also brought SFT Records (Striving For Togetherness) to NYHC glory in the 90's. He quickly saw the band's potential, and signed them on the strength of a rough demo created by Goldey. It's available for purchase on iTunes, Amazon, and Google Music.

    Stream their music HERE!

    Do you want to check out Well Excuse Me Princess?

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on H20

    Tags: H20, Sick of It All, Madball, Lenny Bednarz, Fahrenheit 451, District 9, Without A Cause, No Redeeming Social Value, Most Precious Blood, Arthur Smilios, Gorilla Biscuits, CIV, Token Entry

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart