• > Home
  • > News
  • > Jeff Buckley's Columbia Studio Sessions, 'You and I,' To See March Release
  • Jeff Buckley's Columbia Studio Sessions, 'You and I,' To See March Release

    Thu, 12 Nov 2015 14:33:01

    Jeff Buckley's Columbia Studio Sessions, 'You and I,' To See March Release -

    Jeff Buckley Videos

    • Jeff Buckley - I Know It's Over
    • Jeff Buckley - Everyday People (audio)

    more jeff buckley videos »

    Jeff Buckley passed away at 31, the result of an accidental drowning; it was not, his estate insists, "mysterious" or the result of "drugs, alcohol, or suicide."

    Still, when a promising young songwriter suddenly dies (just a few years older than his dad, Tim Buckley, who passed away from an overdose at 28), conspiracy theories emerge, ideas not based on facts but sentiment, a fan's clumsy way of making sense of the loss. (If you've ever heard Buckley's gorgeous cover of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah," you might have been tempted to think the same: How could someone so talented, inspired, and full of life, just...go?)

    In a way, Buckley never really left, as his influence lingers everywhere in pop music. He's reportedly inspired tributes from PJ Harvey and Lana Del Rey to Coldplay, Pete Yorn, Chris Cornell, and Rufus Wainwright, and anyone ever left wanting more than just his one studio album, Grace, will perk up to find that Sony Music Vaults "recently discovered" the artist's previously unreleased studio work. The ten track album, You and I, to be released March 11, 2016 on Columbia/Legacy Recordings, includes "covers of Bob Dylan, Sly & the Family Stone, Jevetta Steele, Bukka White, Led Zeppelin" as well as The Smiths.

    Hear Jeff Buckley cover "Everyday People":

    Columbia says: "These 10 tracks (most of them cut in Steve Addabbo's Shelter Island Sound studio in February 1993) have gone virtually unheard for more than two decades. Recently discovered in the Sony Music archives during the research for the 20th anniversary edition of Buckley's Grace album, the performances on You and I are a revelation, an intimate portrait of the artist performing a variety of cover songs and original music expressing a range of emotion channeled through his singular sensibility."

    In a 1994 interview, Buckley himself said, of the songs he covers: "Any time I take a cover and wear it on my sleeve, it's because it had something to do with my life and still marks a time in my life when I needed that song more than anything ever."

    You and I is available for preorder on Amazon and iTunes.

    Jeff Buckley - You and I tracklist:

    1. Just Like A Woman (Bob Dylan cover)
    2. Everyday People (Sly & The Family Stone cover)
    3. Don't Let The Sun Catch You Cryin' (First recorded by Louis Jordan)
    4. Grace (original)
    5. Calling You (Jevetta Steele cover)
    6. Dream Of You And I (original)
    7. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (The Smiths cover)
    8. Poor Boy Long Way From Home (traditional blues song, Bukka White cover)
    9. Night Flight (Led Zeppelin cover)
    10. I Know It's Over (The Smiths cover)

    Watch Jeff Buckley - You and I Album Trailer (Pt. 1):

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    Buy Jeff Buckley music at iTunes.

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Jeff Buckley

    Tags: Jeff Buckley

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart