• > Home
  • > News
  • > Kenny Rogers Announces New Album & Tour
  • Kenny Rogers Announces New Album & Tour

    Wed, 11 Sep 2013 15:18:26

    Kenny Rogers Announces New Album & Tour - We have all the nfo! [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Kenny Rogers Videos

    • Kenny Rogers - You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio)
    • Kenny Rogers Featuring Whitney Duncan - My World Is Over

    more kenny rogers videos »

    Country icon and musical treasure Kenny Rogers will release You Can't Make Old Friends on October 8 via Warner Bros. Records.

    The album reunites Rogers with long-time friend and collaborator, Dolly Parton, for a brand new duet on the title track, "You Can't Make Old Friends."

    You can't make old friends, but you can collaborate with 'em! It was 30 years ago almost to the day when Kenny and Dolly released "Islands In the Stream," which went on to become an instant classic and one of the most successful singles by a duo in history.

    "What a thrill it was for me to work again with my buddy, Dolly Parton, and what a special song," remarked Rogers. "Working with Dolly is always a little like going home. Everything felt comfortable."

    You Can't Make Old Friends is Rogers' first country album since the release of Water & Bridges in 2006.

    "I can honestly say this may be the best album I've ever recorded," declared Rogers. "The musical diversity is extraordinary. It goes from songs I would normally sing, to songs I would normally never even listen to. In this business, you do albums to both grow artistically, and for the sheer love of music. We chose what I think are the most diverse and best songs I've ever had access to."

    If you pre-order the new album on iTunes, you get an instant grat of the Dolly duet. Visit iTunes to grab it.

    Track Listing:

    1. You Can't Make Old Friends (Duet With Dolly Parton)
    2. All I Need Is One
    3. You Had to Be There
    4. 'Merica
    5. Turn This World Around
    6. Dreams Of The San Joaquin
    7. Don't Leave Me In The Night Time (Featuring Buckwheat Zydeco)
    8. Look At You
    9. Neon Horses
    10. When You Love Someone
    11. It's Gonna Be Easy Now

    Tour Dates:

    09/14 Oxford, ME – Oxford County Fair – Oxford, ME
    09/25 Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium – Concert for Cumberland Heights – Nashville, TN
    10/10 University, MS – Gertrude C. Ford Center for the Performing Arts – University of Mississippi
    10/11 Branson, MO – The Oak Ridge Boys Theatre
    10/20 Charleston, SC – Southern Ground Music & Food Festival – Blackbaud Stadium on Daniel Island
    10/26 Pocola, OK – Choctaw Casino
    11/09 El Dorado, AR – El Dorado Municipal Auditorium
    11/10 Branson, MO – The Oak Ridge Boys Theatre
    01/23 St. Maarten, Netherlands Antilles – The Country Music Cruise 2014
    01/13 Carmel, IN – The Center for the Performing Arts – The Palladium

    Christmas Tour Dates:

    With Special Guest Linda Davis
    12/01 Concord, NH – The Capitol Center For The Arts
    12/02 Verona, NY – Turning Stone Resort Casino – Event Center
    12/03 Englewood, NJ – bergenPAC
    12/05 Newark, NJ – Prudential Hall, New Jersey Performing Arts Center
    12/07 Newport News, VA – Christopher Newport University's Ferguson Center For The Arts
    12/08 Morgantown, WV – West Virginia University – Creative Arts Center
    12/12 Paducah, KY – Carson Center
    12/14 Sault Sainte Marie, MI – Kewadin Casino – DreamMakers Theater
    12/16 New Philadelphia, OH – Performing Arts Center at Kent State Tuscarawa
    12/21 Naperville, IL – Pfeiffer Hall – North Central College

    For tour info, visit kennyrogers.com.

    What is your favorite Kenny Rogers song?

    —Emily Blume

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Kenny Rogers

    Tags: Kenny Rogers, Dolly Parton, Buckwheat Zydeco

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart