• > Home
  • > News
  • > Keren Ann to Release "101" on March 22
  • Keren Ann to Release "101" on March 22

    Wed, 01 Dec 2010 13:10:10

    Keren Ann to Release "101" on March 22 - It's her fourth album

    Keren Ann Videos

    • Keren Ann - Sugar Mama
    • Keren Ann - Ailleurs

    more keren ann videos »

    Singer-songwriter-composer-producer-engineer and consummate multi-tasker Keren Ann has announced a March 22 release date for 101, her fourth album to be released on EMI's Blue Note Records in the U.S. and her sixth solo album overall. 101 is an entirely self-produced and self-penned set of 10 new songs that presents a surprising yet entirely natural evolution of Keren Ann's sound, as can be heard on the album's buoyant opening track and lead single "My Name Is Trouble."

    Keren Ann will be debuting new songs from 101 when she returns to New York City next week for three special shows, including two nights at Joe's Pub in Manhattan (December 8 & 9) and one night at The Bell House in Brooklyn (December 10). She will also be performing at the Tin Angel in Philadelphia on December 11.

    I am East Coast based and I am feeling the need to check out Keren Ann in the flesh.

    What do you need to know about Keren Ann? Well, let me fill you in. She was born in Caesaria, Israel to a Javanese-Dutch mother and Russian-Israeli father. She was raised in Paris, but now shares her time between Paris and Tel Aviv when not on the road touring. She began captivating U.S. critics and audiences in 2004.

    Almost four years after her last album, Keren Ann is back with 101. Each song is a window into a world, like the windows of the apartment building opposite James Stewart's in Rear Window. Each picture, lit by a different light, is a painting come to life, a painting in sound and words, telling a story.

    The track listing for 101 is as follows and I must say, every time I see the name of her album, I think of the Hollywood Freeway. Just sayin'.

    1. My Name Is Trouble
    2. Run With You
    3. All The Beautiful Girls
    4. Sugar Mama
    5. She Won't Trade It For Nothing
    6. You Were On Fire
    7. Blood On My Hands
    8. Song From A Tour Bus
    9. Strange Weather
    10. 101

    December 8 – Joe's Pub – New York, NY
    December 9 – Joe's Pub – New York, NY
    December 10 – The Bell House – Brooklyn, NY
    December 11 – Tin Angel – Philadelphia, PA

    Are you an East Coaster planning to see Keren Ann next week? You should go check her out. #srsly.

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Keren Ann

    Tags: Keren Ann, James Stewart, Rear Window

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart