• > Home
  • > News
  • > La Dispute to Tour This Spring
  • La Dispute to Tour This Spring

    Wed, 29 Feb 2012 13:29:20

    La Dispute to Tour This Spring - We have the dates

    At the Drive-In Photos

    • At the Drive-In - SAN DIEGO, CA - JULY 19:  (L-R) Musicians James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, actor Dane DeHaan and musician Kirk Hammett speak onstage at 'At The Drive-In With Metallica' during Comic-Con International 2013 at San Diego Convention Center on July 19, 2013 in San Diego, California.
    • At the Drive-In - CHICAGO, IL - AUGUST 04: Musician Jim Ward of At the Drive-In (L) attends the dFM Luncheon presented by Samsung Galaxy S III at the W Chicago on August 4, 2012 in Chicago, Illinois.

    more at the drive-in photos »

    La Dispute Videos

    • La Dispute - Woman (Reading)
    • La Dispute - Extraordinary Dinner Party

    more la dispute videos »

    Grand Rapids band La Dispute, who are buzzing in the hard rock underground, have announced tour dates for the spring. The band manufactures noisy, clang and clatter post-hardcore that will make the hair on the back of your neck stand up. It's discordant, but we like the sonic shake up the band offers. It doesn't go down easy, and that's a very good thing.

    The tour begins on March 24 in Minneapolis, MI, heading to the West Coast for shows in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Seattle and Portland, before heading back east to the East Coast including shows in Philadelphia and Bowery Ballroom in New York. The tour will feature support by Balance & Composure, All Get Out, and Sainthood Reps.

    La Dispute is touring to support their sophomore album, Wildlife, released on No Sleep Records last October, which debuted at 135 on the Billboard Top 200. The follow-up to their 2008 LP Somewhere at the Bottom of The River Between Vega & Altair, Wildlife is a nearly 60-minute musical examination of the 20-something search for purpose; an exploration of the struggles that confront, damage, and redefine us inevitably in life through 14 tracks of new material.

    Set up as a collection of "short stories" complete with the author's own notes and sectioned thematically by four monologues, Wildlife discusses the difficulties inherent in growing up by interweaving the author's own ambiguous loss and struggle for meaning alongside the stories it compelled him to document.

    Recorded at both Drasik Studios in Chicago and StadiumRed in New York with Andrew Everding (from the band Thursday) and Joe Pedulla using no artificial reverb, La Dispute's sophomore full-length organically captures the sound of five friends committed to pushing their own creative boundaries while still retaining a desire to create honest and emotional music.

    Check out "Hardened Harmonies" by going here.

    Want more deets on La Dispute, who remind us of At the Drive-In?

    The band is comprised of five close friends from the Upper Midwest with a firm passion for the concept of music and art as a medium for making new friends. As a result, La Dispute strives to make music that is artistically, technically, and emotionally engaging in hopes of establishing legitimate connections with any and all interested people, while encouraging dialogue between those people and themselves about things in life that truly matter and that truly last. La Dispute also carries a firm passion for the relevance of a live show, both for the bands involved and for the people in attendance, and will go to the grave believing that the environment created when strangers come together despite their differences to celebrate one important thing is invaluable and should not under any circumstances be taken for granted.

    Tour Dates:

    Sat March 24 Varsity Theater, Minneapolis MN
    Sun March 25 The Waiting Room, Omaha NE
    Mon March 26 Gabe's Oasis, Iowa City IA
    Tue March 27 Jackpot Music Hall, Lawrence KS
    Wed March 28 Marquis Theater, Denver CO
    Thu March 29 The Basement, Ogden UT
    Fri March 30 The Venue, Boise ID
    Sat March 31 Vera Project, Seattle WA
    Sun April 1 Branx, Portland OR
    Tue April 3 Operahouse, Oakland CA
    Wed April 4 Sub-Mission, San Francisco CA
    Thu April 5 Chain Reaction, Anaheim CA
    Fri April 6 Eagle Rock Center for the Arts, Los Angeles CA
    Sat April 7 Rock City, Camarillo CA
    Sun April 8 Che Cafe, San Diego CA
    Mon April 9 The Underground, Phoenix AZ
    Wed April 11 Pine Box, Midland TX
    Thu April 12 Red 7, Austin TX
    Fri April 13 Warehouse Live, Houston TX
    Sat April 14 Rubbergloves, Dallas TX
    Sun April 15 Conservatory, Oklahoma City OK
    Mon April 16 Firebird, St Louis MO
    Tue April 17 The End, Nashville TN
    Wed April 18 Masquerade, Atlanta GA
    Thu April 19 Orpheum, Tampa FL
    Fri April 20 Talent Farm, Pembroke Pines FL
    Sat April 21 The Pit, Jacksonville FL
    Sun April 22 New Brookland, Columbia SC
    Tue April 24 Southland Ballroom, Raleigh NC
    Wed April 25 Kingdom, Richmond VA
    Thu April 26 Otto Bar, Baltimore MD
    Fri April 27 Lost Horizon, Syracuse NY
    Sat April 28 Union Transfer, Philadelphia PA
    Sun April 29 Bowery Ballroom, New York NY
    Mon April 30 Middle East, Cambridge MA
    Wed May 2 La Sala Rosa, Montreal QC
    Thu May 3 Mod Club, Toronto ON
    Fri May 4 Mohawk Place, Buffalo NY
    Sat May 5 Magic Stick, Detroit MI
    Sun May 6 Metro, Chicago IL
    Mon May 7 Pyramid Scheme, Grand Rapids MI*

    Did you dig La Dispute's "Hardened Harmonies?" Are they your new favorite post-hardcore band? They're mine!

    —Amy Sciarretto
    02.29.12



    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on La Dispute

    Tags: La Dispute, Balance & Composure, All Get Out, Sainthood Reps, Thursday, At the Drive-In

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart