• > Home
  • > News
  • > Local H to Release First Covers Collection
  • Local H to Release First Covers Collection

    Fri, 20 Aug 2010 11:55:07

    Local H to Release First Covers Collection - "Local H's Awesome Mix Tape #1" is out October 19

    Local H Videos

    • Local H - High-Fiving MF
    • Local H - Bound For The Floor

    more local h videos »

    Chicago-based rock duo Local H will release their first covers collection, Local H's Awesome Mix Tape #1, on October 19 via G&P. It’s also a literal mix tape, as the EP will be released digitally, on CD and as a limited-edition cassette in honor of the format from which the album takes its name. Cassettes? In 2010? I bet the download generation has no idea what a cassette looks like up close, nor do they own a tape player with which to play it! I think it is a brilliant idea, however. Mix tapes were a wonderful signifier of a generation and a beautiful way to share songs, and I think it's incredible that Local H are introducing cassettes to kids who probably have no experience with them. It's such a classic, cute and vintage move on the band's part. Love it! LOVE!

    Local H will cover everyone from TV on the Radio to Concrete Blonde to Jesus Lizard to Pink Floyd. The track listing is below.

    01. Wolf Like Me (TV On The Radio)
    02. Joey (Concrete Blonde)
    03. Puss (The Jesus Lizard)
    04. Spiderbite (Winnebago Deal)
    05. Blood Stains (Agent Orange)
    06. Time (Pink Floyd)
    07. For Lovers (Wolfman)

    What cover would you like to check out first? Any other suggestions for Local H to cover on Mix Tape #2?

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Local H

    Tags: Local H

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart