• > Home
  • > News
  • > Los Campesinos! to Release "Hello Sadness" on Nov. 15
  • Los Campesinos! to Release "Hello Sadness" on Nov. 15

    Thu, 01 Sep 2011 10:38:40

    Los Campesinos! to Release "Hello Sadness" on Nov. 15 - It's their third!

    Los Campesinos! Photos

    • Los Campesinos! - READING, ENGLAND - AUGUST 25:  Kim Campesinos of Los Campesinos! performs live on the Main Stage on Day Two during the Reading Festival 2012 at Richfield Avenue on August 25, 2012 in Reading, England.
    • Los Campesinos! - Gareth Campesinos of British rock band Los Campesinos performs during the first day of the Clockenflap music festival in Hong Kong on November 7, 2009. The city's only music and multimedia festival, Clockenflap aims to promote music and art featuring a lineup of local, regional, and international performers.

    more los campesinos! photos »

    Los Campesinos! Videos

    • Los Campesinos! - Avocado, Baby
    • Los Campesinos! - Death to Los Campesinos!

    more los campesinos! videos »

    Bring on the Sadness!

    Arts & Crafts is proud to announce the release of the newest album by Cardiff, Wales' Los Campesinos! entitled Hello Sadness on Nov. 15, 2011. Recorded earlier this year in Girona, Spain by producer John Goodmanson – responsible for the septet's previous two albums, 2008's We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed and 2010's Romance Is BoringHello Sadness is Los Campesinos! at their most melodic, direct and exhilarating, featuring ten songs of love, loss and heartbreak. It is an honest, bare-bones documentation of two people breaking up and trying not to break up in the process, and is simultaneously the most focused collection by Los Campesinos! to date.

    We totally crush on the band's album titles. They are witty and hip. We likey.

    So what do you need to know about Los Campesinos!? Ever present are the wry observations, the razor-sharp wordplay and the band's varied instrumentation, combined with some of the saddest, world-weary confessionals Los Campesinos! have ever recorded. Indeed, Hello Sadness is wise beyond its years, exhibited not only in the sincerity, poetry and honesty of its lyrical content, but by the instrumental dynamics of its songs: a band that previously all put their foot on the accelerator pedal at once, a key element of their high octane sound, have learned how to take turns and let each other drive. Yes, things are still loud and upbeat. Yes, lead vocalist Gareth Campesinos! still tells it like it is. Yes, theirs is still the perfect middle ground between punk rock, indie pop, Morrissey and The Fall's Mark E. Smith. But each instrument has a settled place; each song sounds incredibly confident in its aim and abilities. The result is a band that has never sounded more together while detailing the impact of a relationship falling apart.

    At just ten songs and forty minutes, Hello Sadness is perhaps the first Los Campesinos! album that sounds lean and pruned, indulgence shorn away and filler ruthlessly excised. Opener "By Your Hand" envisions death at the hand of a lover – a perfect tune for setting the album's tone and theme into place – while songs like "Baby I Got The Death Rattle" and "Light Leaves, Dark Sees Pt. II" come from a raw, uncertain place that, in their confusion of emotions, feels more authentic than previous Los Campesinos! recordings. This is bolstered by the band's own voices – singing together at least once one every song – as a unified message of hope, dismay and need. It's a confessional feel that's intensified in places by whispers of incidental sound – the rattle of rain, distant radio, the hiss of room microphones – and snatches of Dictaphone, captured by Gareth in a lonely or introspective moment. It's an album whose very purpose and complexion changed dramatically when, on the eve of recording, the end of a relationship meant every word that had been penned before had to be rewritten. More heart-on-sleeve than ever before, Hello Sadness is Los Campesinos! at their very best.

    Los Campesinos! are: Gareth Campesinos! (vocals), Tom Campesinos! (guitar), Neil Campesinos! (guitar), Kim Campesinos! (keyboard/vocals), Jason Campesinos! (drums), Rob Campesinos! (keyboard/guitar) and Ellen Campesinos! (bass).

    Hello Sadness track listing:
    1. By Your Hand
    2. Songs About Your Girlfriend
    3. Hello Sadness
    4. Life Is A Long Time
    5. Every Defeat A Divorce (Three Lions)
    6. Hate For The Island
    7. The Black Bird, The Dark Slope
    8. To Tundra
    9. Baby I Got The Death Rattle
    10. Light Leaves, Dark Sees Pt. II

    Are you going to greet Sadness on Nov. 15?

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Los Campesinos!

    Tags: Los Campesinos!, Morrissey, The Fall, Mark E. Smith

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart