• > Home
  • > News
  • > Mike Doughty to Release Reinvented Soul Coughing Album on September 17
  • Mike Doughty to Release Reinvented Soul Coughing Album on September 17

    Fri, 19 Jul 2013 15:57:36

    Mike Doughty to Release Reinvented Soul Coughing Album on September 17 - Find out all details

    Mike Doughty Videos

    • Mike Doughty - The Idiot Kings
    • Mike Doughty - Sunshine

    more mike doughty videos »

    On September 17, Mike Doughty will release his new album, a collection of 13 re-imagined songs originally performed by his former band, Soul Coughing. Doughty has famously eschewed the band's repertoire as he built a solo career in the years after their 2000 split, but decided to re-explore his old songs after writing his memoir, The Book of Drugs, which was published by Da Capo last year. The record was produced by Good Goose (Menya, Ninjasonik, Mac Lethal, Homeboy Sandman) and will be released worldwide via Snack Bar (Doughty's own imprint) and Megaforce Records.

    The album's title is a list of the songs included: Circles Super Bon Bon Sleepless How Many Cans? True Dreams of Wichita Monster Man Mr. Bitterness Maybe I'll Come Down St. Louise Is Listening I Miss the Girl Unmarked Helicopters The Idiot Kings So Far I Have Not Found the Science.

    See reverse for a track list, as the running order is different from the album title. The album includes songs that originally appeared each of Soul Coughing's three studio albums, as well as "Unmarked Helicopters," a rarity originally written for the X-Files-themed 1996 compilation album Songs in the Key of X: Music from and Inspired by 'the X-Files'.

    Doughty says of the reinvented versions of the songs on Circles Super Bon Bon...,, "After my memoir, which was full of pain, I picked up a guitar and, by myself, went through the songs I wrote in the '90s -- between the ages of 20 and 29 -- to figure out who I was, where I was, and what I was trying to say. There'll be more of the music I stumbled into, and fell in love with, when I came to New York as an 18-year-old -- an explosion of amazing hip-hop and house music. I can use the weirdness I absorbed as a doorman at an avant-garde jazz club, when I was 21, more artfully. I think the songs can be better than they were. I can make the actual songs more hearable. I think I can make them more like what I intended them to be."

    Following the album's release, Doughty will tour the U.S. with a new band performing these 13 songs and more from the Soul Coughing catalog. Dates will be announced in the coming weeks.

    Check out 'acoustique' videos of St. Louise Is Listening and more over on Mike's PledgeMusic.com page.

    Will you check out the reimagined Soul Coughing tracks?

    —Maggie Pannacione

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Mike Doughty

    Tags: Mike Doughty, Soul Coughing, Ninjasonik, Mac Lethal, Homeboy Sandman

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart
    • 14
    • 393
    • Snow
    • 14
    • 175