• > Home
  • > News
  • > Morrissey, Johnny Marr Give Blessings to Smiths Comp
  • Morrissey, Johnny Marr Give Blessings to Smiths Comp

    Thu, 02 Oct 2008 14:21:46

    Morrissey, Johnny Marr Give Blessings to Smiths Comp  - The Moz even titled the thing [an error occurred while processing this directive][an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Morrissey and Johnny Marr of The Smith have given their stamp of approval to The Sound of the Smiths, yet another retrospective of the legendary band. While Marr oversaw Rhino's mastering process and track selection, Morrissey gave the compilation its title and also helped curate it. Available November 11, The Sound of the Smiths comes in single and double-disc versions, with the former being 23 chronologically-sequenced singles and the latter bringing B-sides, alternate versions and live takes together.

    Interestingly enough, a Morrissey fan site, http://true-to-you.net, posted the following message earlier this year: "It is understood that Warner Music in London are releasing a Smiths Greatest Hits album in the final quarter of 2008. This release is without Morrissey's approval or involvement." Way to jump the gun, guys.

    The Sound of the Smiths:

    Disc One:
    1. Hand in Glove [single version]
    2. This Charming Man [single version]
    3. What Difference Does It Make [Peel session]
    4. Still Ill
    5. Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now [single version]
    6. William, It Was Really Nothing [single version]
    7. How Soon Is Now?
    8. Nowhere Fast
    9. Shakespeare's Sister [single version]
    10. Barbarism Begins at Home [7" version]
    11. That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore [single version]
    12. The Headmaster Ritual
    13. The Boy With the Thorn in His Side [single version]
    14. Bigmouth Strikes Again [single version]
    15. There Is a Light That Never Goes Out
    16. Panic [single version]
    17. Ask [single version]
    18. You Just Haven't Earned It Yet Baby [single version]
    19. Shoplifters of the World Unite [single version]
    20. Sheila Take a Bow [single version]
    21. Girlfriend in a Coma [single version]
    22. I Started Something I Couldn't Finish [single version]
    23. Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me [single version]

    Disc Two:
    1. Jeane [B-side]
    2. Handsome Devil [B-side, live 1983]
    3. This Charming Man [New York vocal]
    4. Wonderful Woman
    5. Back to the Old House [B-side]
    6. These Things Take Time [B-side]
    7. Girl Afraid [B-side]
    8. Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want [B-side]
    9. Stretch Out and Wait [B-side]
    10. Oscillate Wildly [B-side]
    11. Meat Is Murder [B-side, live in Oxford]
    12. Asleep [B-side]
    13. Money Changes Everything [B-side]
    14. The Queen Is Dead / Take Me Back To Dear Old Blighty [medley]
    15. Vicar in a Tutu [B-side]
    16. Cemetry Gates [B-side]
    17. Half a Person [B-side]
    18. Sweet and Tender Hooligan [B-side]
    19. Pretty Girls Make Graves [B-side, Trot Tate version]
    20. Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before
    21. What's the World [live in Glasgow]
    22. London [live in London]

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on The Smiths

    Tags: The Smiths, Morrisey

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart