• > Home
  • > News
  • > orbé orbé to Release "Invisible Kingdoms" on October 22
  • orbé orbé to Release "Invisible Kingdoms" on October 22

    Thu, 08 Aug 2013 14:23:10

    orbé orbé  to Release "Invisible Kingdoms" on October 22 - She is a New Yorker turned Seattle resident

    Common Market Videos

    • Common Market - TROUBLE IS

    more common market videos »

    New York native Cristina Orbé relocated to Seattle over a decade ago with several intentions, one of which included teaching herself how to play the guitar. Within six months of her declaration, she started performing her own music on stage and has not stopped ever since.

    The musician has shone in a variety of genres from spoken word poetry to songwriter to soul-folk band front woman. She has been featured on tracks by notable Northwest hip-hop artists including Common Market, Abyssinian Creole, Gabriel Teodros and Moko Only.

    orbé orbé marks Cristina's collaboration with brilliant producer and engineer Jahon Mikal. The fruit of their labor is Invisible Kingdoms, which weaves a lush soundscape that is as arresting as it is ethereal. Truly an other-worldly project, this is electro dream pop fused with heavy doses of rock and whimsy. Like Portishead and say, Janelle Monae? Then this, you will love.

    "The title Invisible Kingdoms refers to the unseen worlds we traverse in our relationships," explains Orbé. "The gut feeling, the pull of spirit, the gardens or wastelands we build between ourselves and the people we love. These places influence the trajectories of our lives whether we pay attention to them or not."

    Will you check out this release in October?

    —Maggie Pannacione

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Cristina Orbé

    Tags: Cristina Orbé, Common Market, Abyssinian Creole, Gabriel Teodros

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart