• > Home
  • > News
  • > Otherwise "True Love Never Dies" Album Review — 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Otherwise "True Love Never Dies" Album Review — 4.5 out of 5 stars

    Thu, 03 May 2012 08:11:20

    Otherwise "True Love Never Dies" Album Review — 4.5 out of 5 stars - By ARTISTdirect.com editor in chief Rick Florino...

    Otherwise Photos

    • Otherwise
    • Otherwise
    • Otherwise

    more otherwise photos »

    Otherwise Videos

    • "Soldiers" - Otherwise
    • Otherwise - Darker Side of the Moon (lyric video)

    more otherwise videos »

    Rock stars aren't born. They're made.

    More precisely, they make themselves. All of our favorite bands, whether it be Guns N' Roses and Metallica or Korn and Tool, grinded it out for a long time before worldwide success arrived.

    That grind is actually what made them who they are. If Guns N' Roses hadn't murdered the Sunset Strip, then they never would've been able to conquer arenas around the globe. There are rites of passage in rock 'n' roll, and there is definitely no such thing as an overnight success story.

    Otherwise live for their music. It's instantly palpable from the first lines of their awe-inspiring Century Media Records debut, True Love Never Dies. Singer Adrian Patrick proclaims, "You make me feel so alive."

    His statement feels directed towards the very music itself. Quickly a staggering riff from Ryan Patrick and Vassilios Metropoulos struts to the forefront of "Die For You". The track's pummeling groove seesaws elegantly on the percussive palette of drum maestro Corky Gainsford and bassist Flavio Ivan. The chorus teeters between Pantera-style bravado and heavenly melody. Shortly after one last scream, the guitars illuminate "Lighthouse"—another swaggering rocker that's as devilish as it is danceable.

    Ethereal clean guitar bleeds through the beginning of the inspiring "Don't Be Afraid" perfectly lifting a stadium-size refrain from Adrian into another dimension. On the other end of the spectrum "Vegas Girl" is a panty-dropping anthem with a tongue-in-cheek take on Las Vegas Blvd gold diggers populating pool parties and after hours clubs. It doesn't just make a joke, but it shows another side of Adrian's diverse writing.

    Album standout "I Don't Apologize (1000 Pictures)" has the potential to crossover huge. However, it's still got grit characteristic of the Las Vegas quintet, sending off an ex in a haze of smoke and flames. Everything builds up to the stunning acoustic closer "Heaven". A pensive elegy featuring a guest appearance from New Years Day singer Ashely Costello, it's cinematic in its scope and touching in its delivery—very a propos.

    The group's first single "Soldiers" has become a hit already, but it's because the band has been fighting to be heard for so long. They're not going to have to fight much longer though. They've toiled in the trenches of the local Vegas scene for years, and now they're ready for very big things.

    Watch the music video for "Soldiers"

    Not only does true love never die, but Otherwise don't either. This is one of the best albums of 2012 and the start of a legacy well-deserved.

    Rick Florino

    Have you heard Otherwise? Will you be getting their debut on May 8, 2012?

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Otherwise

    Tags: Otherwise, Pantera, Guns N' Roses, Tool, Metallica, Korn, New Years Day

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart