• > Home
  • > News
  • > Rammstein's Richard Kruspe Revives Emigrate
  • Rammstein's Richard Kruspe Revives Emigrate

    Fri, 29 Aug 2014 13:55:25

    Rammstein's Richard Kruspe Revives Emigrate - Band to release new album on October 21

    Motörhead Photos

    • Motörhead - CLISSON, FRANCE - JUNE 20:  Lemmy of Motorhead performs on stage at Hellfest Festival on June 20, 2010 in Clisson, France.
    • Motörhead - CLISSON, FRANCE - JUNE 20:  Lemmy of Motorhead performs on stage at Hellfest Festival on June 20, 2010 in Clisson, France.
    • Motörhead - DONINGTON, UNITED KINGDOM - JUNE 13:  Lemmy Kilmister of Motorhead performs on the Maurice Jones stage on day 3 of Download Festival on June 13, 2010 in Donington, England.

    more motörhead photos »

    Rammstein Videos

    • Machine Head - Now We Die (Explicit)
    • Rammstein - Mein Land

    more rammstein videos »

    Calling all Rammstein fans. There is news about Emigrate, a killer band formed by Rammstein's Richard Kruspe.

    Emigrate have set October 21 as the release date for their new studio album Silent So Long, the follow up to 2007's self-titled debut.

    Emigrate are silent no longer!

    The new album boasts 11 songs.

    As with the debut, Kruspe adds to his guitar playing/songwriting duties by stepping up to the mic, only this time he's joined by a number of guest singers. The list is impressive: Lemmy from Motörhead; Korn's Jonathan Davis; Canadian-born and Berlin-dwelling Peaches; plus Frank Dellé, from chart-topping German collective Seeed.

    "I didn't write the songs with specific guests in mind," explains Kruspe. "I just thought who would do the best job on this or that track, and the final performances were everything I was hoping for. You know, I've had about five moments in my music career when I've been left smiling like a child. One was when Rammstein sold out New York's Madison Square Garden in 20 minutes (2010) and the last one was hearing Lemmy on tape. It just sounds fucking great!"

    For Kruspe, who is still firmly ensconced within the Rammstein ranks, Emigrate have never been a side or a solo project. Preferring to tap into the energy of a team, and looking to revive the collaborative spirit of the East German punk scene he grew from, the guitarist has always put value on those around him.

    This time, in addition to the existing personnel of guitarist/producer Olson Involtini and bassist/co-conspirator Arnaud Giroux, he's joined by drummers Mikko Sirén (Apocalyptica) and Joe Letz (Combichrist).

    This project just keeps getting better and better and better and better.

    This album boasts fresh layers in terms of invention, emotion and contemporary sheen, with Margaux Bossieux – previously of New York punk band Dirty Mary – providing telling backing vocals throughout; crafted with care in Kruspe's own Berlin studio, plus the old radio building on the city's Nalepa Street, the latter enhanced by an extra control room's worth of gear, Silent So Long is another bold step forward, with both music and (English) lyrics showing no desire to be corralled.

    Are you excited about Emigrate?

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Rammstein

    Tags: Rammstein, Richard Kruspe, Emigrate, Motörhead, Korn, Jonathan Davis, Peaches, Seeed, Apocalyptica, Combichrist

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart