• > Home
  • > News
  • > Rancid, Arcade Fire, & Carly Rae Jepsen In Top Songs Of The Week - June 2
  • Rancid, Arcade Fire, & Carly Rae Jepsen In Top Songs Of The Week - June 2

    Thu, 01 Jun 2017 12:31:03

    Rancid, Arcade Fire, & Carly Rae Jepsen In Top Songs Of The Week - June 2 - [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Rancid Videos

    • Rancid - Roots Radicals
    • Buccaneer - Bruk Out ft. Rancid

    more rancid videos »

    Over the past seven days we've heard something grabbing and new from almost every corner of the music world. From rock and indie giants and the biggest trap stars to returns from the biggest names in pop, this last week has had everything.

    Rancid is back with their third new single from their forthcoming record, and it's a call back to their beginnings that cannot be missed. Arcade Fire turned heads by dropping an orange vinyl pressing of their newest single. 2 Chainz, meanwhile, reminded us that Pretty Girls Like Trap Music, and unveiled his newest collaboration.

    Pop stars weren't going to take back seat though. Nick Jonas teamed up with Anne-Marie and Mike Posner on a new summer scorcher. Carly Rae Jepsen reminded us what's so great about sugary pop music. And that was only the beginning for a week filled with stunning new tracks.

    Here are our favorites:

    Rancid — "Where I'm Going"

    It's been over 25 years and Bay Area punk rockers Rancid are still going strong. Their new album, Trouble Maker, is due out in a couple weeks and they've continued to pique our interest with each new song. This week they unveiled the third single from the record, "Where I'm Going", and it's proof that if a recipe works, there is no need to muddy up the flavors. The track is a call back to their ska-inspired roots and an ideal listen for those who are longtime fans or are just starting to get into the band.

    Arcade Fire — "Everything Now"

    Is Arcade Fire coming out with a new album any time soon? They simply just won't tell us. But that doesn't mean we won't keep scratching at the door. A couple weeks ago the Canadian indie rock giants debuted six new songs at a secret show in Montreal, and back in January they dropped "I Give You Power" featuring Mavis Staples. They are also set to embark on an European tour, featuring a headline slot at the Glastonbury Festival. We still don't know if an album is coming, but they have shared another new song, "Everything Now".

    2 Chainz — "4 AM" [ft. Travis Scott]

    It has been six months since 2 Chainz has dropped a new album or mixtape, and in Tauheed Epps' world that's a lifetime. Last year alone he dropped three mixtapes and a collaborative record with Lil Wayne. But it seems like the wait is finally over and with his announcement of Pretty Girls Like Trap Music, and he gave us another little taste from the record — turns out we'd already heard a couple tunes without knowing — "4 AM" featuring none other than Travis Scott. With "4 AM" 2 Chainz is "just getting started", but we certainly "believe the hype."

    Carly Rae Jepsen — "Cut to the Feeling"

    Remember how back in 2011 everything was still so blissful. Flowers smelled a bit more fragrant, the sky was a little more blue, and "Call Me Maybe" blasted from everyone's Apple speakers. Then came Emotion and we were all left wondering how Carly wasn't sitting on top of the pop world. Well as we've all learned, life doesn't always turn out the way you expect it to, but with Jepsen's new track "Cut to the Feeling", we may be able to finally get to the 2011 fantasies. It's a piece of bubbly pop perfection that was stashed away with 250 other cuts that didn't make her 2013 album. Where are the others? After this, trust we will be rummaging through the freezer to find them.

    Nick Jonas — "Remember I Told You" [ft. Anne-Marie & Mike Posner]

    Nick Jonas' fourth album is finally on the way. And though he is yet to unveil a release date for the album, we are finally getting a sense of what it might sounds like via new single "Remember I Told You". On the track he collaborates with Anne-Marie and Mike Posner. It's got that EDM feel and seems like Posner and the youngest Jonas brother may have returned to Ibiza for a little inspiration. It certainly sounds like they found some by way of rekindling an old romance, and we can tell you, sparks are certainly flying.

    Get Rancid music on iTunes
    Get Arcade Fire music on iTunes
    Get 2 Chainz music on iTunes
    Get Carly Rae Jepsen music on iTunes
    Get Nick Jonas music on iTunes

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Rancid

    Tags: Rancid, Arcade Fire, 2 Chainz, Carly Rae Jepsen, Nick Jonas

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart