• > Home
  • > News
  • > Ray Davies Announces New Album "Americana"
  • Ray Davies Announces New Album "Americana"

    Tue, 24 Jan 2017 10:35:16

    Ray Davies Announces New Album "Americana" -

    The Kinks Photos

    • The Kinks - LONDON, ENGLAND - AUGUST 12:  Ray Davies from the Kinks arrives in a London Cab during the Closing Ceremony on Day 16 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at Olympic Stadium on August 12, 2012 in London, England.
    • The Kinks - LONDON, ENGLAND - FEBRUARY 24:  Band members relax backstage at the 100 Club on February 24, 2011 in London, England. Since it's opening in 1942, the 100 club has hosted many artists such as B.B.King, the Rolling Stones, the Kinks, Oasis, and the Sex Pistols to name but a few. The club had recently been threatened with closure, because of financial pressures as have many smaller fringe clubs across the country, but after a high-profile campaign supported by Sir Paul McCartney and Ronnie Wood, a recent sponsorship deal with the shoe company Converse has saved the 100 Club from an uncertain future.

    more the kinks photos »

    Ray Davies Videos

    • Ray Davies - Days/This Time Tomorrow (Live on Jools Holland, 2010) ft. Mumford & Sons

    more ray davies videos »

    Legendary songwriter and onetime Kinks frontman, Ray Davies, has announced a new full length album. The release is called Americana and will feature The Jayhawks as Davies' backing band.

    The album will be Davies first release of new material in ten years, and it follows his memoir, released in 2013 - which had the same name. Similar to the book, the album promises to focus on the relationship between the recently knighted Davies and the role America has played in his life. It's perhaps quite fitting that Davies enlisted The Jayhawks, one of the best known Americana bands, to join him in the studio. Karen Grotberg from the band appears in a duet on the track "Message from the Road". You can listen to the first released track, "Poetry" via NPR, below.

    Americana was co-produced with Guy Massey and John Jackson. Speaking in an interview with Mojo, Davies explained that this record was, "the biggest record project I've ever attempted. … It's a real challenge. You adapt books into films and stage plays, but it's very unusual to adapt a book into a record."

    On the album, new material from Davies is interspersed with a series of spoken-word passages from the memoir. Davies said, "My catchphrase right now is ‘feel free to fail… Because you gotta try, even if you don't succeed. At least you tried. That was my approach with the Kinks, and it paid off for the most part."

    Americana will be out April 21 via Legacy Recordings and a second Americana volume will be out later in 2017. Tracklist and artwork are below.

    No tour dates have yet been announced.

    Americana tracklist:
    01 Americana
    02 The Deal
    03 Poetry
    04 Message From the Road
    05 A Place in Your Heart
    06 The Mystery Room
    07 Silent Movie
    08 Rock ‘N' Roll Cowboys
    09 Change for Change
    10 The Man Upstairs
    11 I've Heard That Beat Before
    12 A Long Drive Home to Tarzana
    13 The Great Highway
    14 The Invaders
    15 Wings of Fantasy

    Download Ray Davies music from iTunes

    —The ARTISTdirect Staff

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Ray Davies

    Tags: Ray Davies, The Jayhawks, The Kinks

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart