• > Home
  • > News
  • > Rodrigo Y Gabriela to Release "Area 52" on Jan. 24
  • Rodrigo Y Gabriela to Release "Area 52" on Jan. 24

    Wed, 02 Nov 2011 12:59:53

    Rodrigo Y Gabriela to Release "Area 52" on Jan. 24 - It's their fourth studio album

    Rodrigo y Gabriela Videos

    • Rodrigo Y Gabriela - Hanuman
    • Rodrigo Y Gabriela - DIABLO ROJO

    more rodrigo y gabriela videos »

    Winter'll get warmer thanks to a dose of music from Rodrigo y Gabriela, who will issue their fourth studio album Area 52 Jan. 24. The record features nine tracks from Rodrigo Y Gabriela's discography re-arranged and re-configured for a 13-piece Cuban orchestra known as C.U.B.A. How experimental and creative, and, well, awesome!

    "The album is called Area 52 because we felt like Mulder and Scully approaching this — it was just a crazy idea, to see if a big Cuban band could play our music, a step in the dark," Rodrigo explained in a statement, referencing The X Files. "We knew it was out there, everyone has heard of Area 51, but we wanted to take it a little further. We saw it as a trip into the unknown, an experiment." The truth is out there!

    Expect the pair to tour next year.

    Do you want to check out Area 52?

    —Amy Sciarretto

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on Rodrigo y Gabriela

    Tags: Rodrigo y Gabriela

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart