• > Home
  • > News
  • > Ruin/Renewal Issue "Chess Club" EP
  • Ruin/Renewal Issue "Chess Club" EP

    Fri, 04 May 2012 11:38:39

    Ruin/Renewal Issue "Chess Club" EP - Watch the video for "One of the Four Humors"

    Boston rock band Ruin/Renewal have released their Chess ClubEP. We're here to introduce you to 'em, in case you are not familiar.

    Check out the single "Fine Things."

    Check out the video for "One of the Four Humors" below:

    So what else do you need to know, now that you've enjoyed some content? Chess Club features some of the first material written by the band's guitarist and founder, Joshua Pritchard, dating back to 2003. Two years later, along with his twin brother John and producer Tom Eaton, Pritchard formed Ruin/Renewal, and began working at Eaton's Boston area studio, Universal Noise Storage. It wasn't until 2009 that the band began performing live at venues in New York and Boston.

    Joshua speaks candidly about his formative years as a musician, making quiet voice and guitar recordings on cassettes, song ideas he shared with his brother – but only begrudgingly. "Like a lot of new artists, my first instinct was to work in isolation. I thought I could perfect everything on my own…and the thought of anyone hearing it was – a little terrifying." The demos piled up.

    "Those earliest home recordings became classics to us before anyone else ever heard them," says John. "People would say – 'You keep talking about this band – but where is the music?' There was always music – it was just – laying dormant." Those early recordings would later become the basis for Chess Club.

    Unlike Pritchard's earliest, acoustic driven work, Ruin/Renewal's self-titled debut EP (June 2011, Burst and Bloom Records) was a raucous affair, recorded live as a three-piece. "When I got the band going, we loved to play loud," says Joshua. "Leaving the acoustic guitar at home felt good – I reveled in it."

    Ruin/Renewal's follow-up, the Chess Club EP is a collection of material from the band's earlier, reticent years, explores similar mood swings with a more elaborate, orchestral feel and features Mike Gruen (bass), Eaton (lap steel, piano) and Megumi Sasaki (violin). "There's more layering on this record," said Joshua. "The songs are less driving. There's a lot of piano, percussion elements, strings. It captures our chamber music phase - small, early ideas that were fleshed out with the help of colleagues."

    Currently at work on Unknown You, their debut full-length due October 2012, Ruin/Renewal will, for the first time, explore a theme from the outset – identity. "We're planning on doing some different things in terms of rhythms - Old World, ragtime, American folk kind of stuff," said Joshua. "We're also working with some new collaborators; growing the family so to speak." The new project will also feature several songs co-written by the Pritchard brothers.

    You can pick up the Chess Club EP on iTunes.

    Did you like what you heard of Ruin/Renewal?

    —Katie Sheehan

    "Like" ARTISTdirect on facebook to get more news and info on

    Latest Music News

    more news headlines »

    • this week
    • last week
    • artist
    • ringtone
    • peak rank
    • wks on chart